A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites

on July 25, 2014

The new thing I’m loving this week:

image

This caramel macchiato greek yogurt has officially replaced my usual PB2 and greek yogurt for a night time snack. Yum!

As I mentioned earlier this week, I’m a big reader and many date nights end up with my husband and I at a bookstore. We tend to alternate between one of our local independent bookstores, The Bookworm, and Barnes and Noble depending on the hour and the type of book we’re interested in. We absolutely love that we have a big, bustling independent bookstore in Omaha and try to support it whenever we can because it definitely a dying breed. The staff in The Bookworm are so passionate and knowledgeable about books that it is definitely our go-to if we’re looking for a new kid’s book (the children’s section is fantastic!) or a gift for someone. As local bookstore lovers, we were excited to see this program sponsored by author James Patterson (of the Alex Cross series). He is bankrolling a literary fund, with $1 million of his own money going to support independent bookstores around the country. You can nominate your local store here.

At the last Weight Watchers meeting I attended, the same woman who asked about getting started running while overweight also wanted to talk about her frustrations with having so much weight to lose. I know more than most how giant a task that feel like and we talked a lot about trying to give herself credit for the good things she was doing rather than beat herself up for how far there was to go! I really wish I’d had this to share with her then: 9 self care tips I learned from losing 120 pounds. We need to be kind to ourselves along this journey. There are enough times where I felt like everyone else was judging me harshly – there’s no reason I needed to pile onto that negativity. In that vein, also check out this fantastic post from UnderwearinOurKitchen about fat shaming. I found myself cheering along with this lovely lady the whole way through! We can be healthy at a wide variety of sizes and need to work on accepting that (both me as an individual and us as a society).

I hope you guys all have a great weekend! I’m looking forward to a date night with Oliver Saturday night and a nice long run tomorrow morning, with no other pressing agenda items. Here’s hoping for a restful, joyful weekend for us all!

7 responses to “Friday Favorites

  1. gannonham says:

    Great post, thank you. I don’t think we have that kind of yogurt in Canada … may have to take a trip to Buffalo! How many points is it?

  2. leannenalani says:

    Caramel macchiato greek yogurt? I love yogurt but I’ve never tried coffee kinds. Does it taste more like caramel or more like coffee?

    • It’s a nice mix of both. Too much coffee for my husband (who is very anti-coffee) to like it, but not overwhelming. You definitely taste the caramel as well.

      On Fri, Jul 25, 2014 at 11:10 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. That caramel macchiato yogurt sounds amazing!!

    • It is fantastic! I couldn’t resist picking up more at Target this weekend, even though I knew I had other kinds of yogurt at home.

      On Mon, Jul 28, 2014 at 10:43 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

