A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: Getting the whole family involved in healthy eating!

on July 23, 2014

One of my biggest reasons for losing weight was to stay healthy for my guys and to serve as a better role model for my family. Ideally, the changes I’m making for my own health will trickle through to healthier eating for the whole family. That was a big motivation for the recent shift in my eating plan, so that we could all make better choices together. So far it is going really well, so I thought I’d go through some of the things that have helped us out.

imageGet everyone involved in choosing the food you’re going to eat. If everyone in the family gets a vote in the meals for the week, we’re all more likely to eat without complaining, right? I don’t want my husband to feel like he’s on a diet he didn’t sign for, so I definitely want him to get a vote in what we eat. All 3 of us, including my toddler, go through our cookbooks and magazines to pick out the food we’re going to eat for the week. We have some great cookbooks that help make this easier and fun for all of us. Oliver’s favorites are our Sesame Street cookbooks, which mark the steps that would be appropriate for him to help with. We also get O involved in choosing fruit and veggies at the grocery store, so he gets excited about food from the beginning.

Family Friendly Cookbooks We Love: C is for Cooking, Weelicious, Dinner A Love Story

Family Friendly Cookbooks We Love: C is for Cooking, Weelicious, Dinner A Love Story

Get everyone involved in cooking the food you’re going to eat. This probably helps get my kiddo on board more than my husband. O really loves to help out and he always does a better job eating the things he cooked, especially if it is something new or outside of his comfort zone.

– Summer is the perfect time to try out fruit for dessert. Sweet juicy berries and peaches are better than most cookies or candies. I confess I was super proud of my little guy last, who chose peaches when offered peaches, apples or cookies after dinner. Establishing that habit of healthier treats now will pay off in the winter, when we have to rely on frozen or canned fruit, but at least we’ll have set a pattern.

Offer options for everyone to modify healthier meals to their own tastes. We like pizza and taco nights for this, because everyone gets to choose their own toppings and have control over their own dish. I’ve also done frittatas with a mix-in bar, which worked well.

Making pizza

How do get your whole family involved in healthier food choices?

2 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: Getting the whole family involved in healthy eating!

  1. I love pizza and tacos nights! I think it is awesome that your whole family is involved so much in picking meals for the week. What a great idea! My husband and I just usually go with our favorite healthier staples. We need to start adding more favorites to the mix! Though I am super excited for Fall…there are some skinny chili recipes that I love to make that I haven’t had since it was cooler outside!

    • I love soup and chili season! I’m looking forward to fall running too – the humidity is killing me! I don’t know you survive down in Texas. There’s a reason I didn’t start running until I moved north. 🙂

      On Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 8:18 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

