A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: So glad to be home!

on July 20, 2014

There’s no place like home! Thanks to the delays at the airport, I didn’t get home until after midnight Friday. With everyone asleep, it wasn’t quite the homecoming I was expecting but it was great to be back in my own bed and I got to have a great breakfast with my guys when they woke up Saturday morning. Even better, I took a nice long nap with Oliver Saturday afternoon and had a great date night with my husband last night to celebrate being back home with my two favorite guys!

This morning was all about Oliver and mommy date time. We had breakfast, played outside at a nearby outdoor shopping mall and then watched a movie in the theater together. It was great to spend so much one on one time with him. I’m still worn out from my travel day, but both of my guys have promised to help me do my strength training later today!

I definitely felt like I got a lot of quality workouts done in Montana this week. Most days I was near 20,000 steps and everything seemed to take more effort at the higher elevation! I still feel dry and dehydrated, so I don’t think I did a great job keeping up with my fluid status in the higher, drier air.

Weekly Workouts

Monday Fun workout on the schedule, so I went with hiking the ambush loop around the resort for 3.1 miles. I was going to go with the horse riding option, but was worried about my legs getting too sore from that to get my runs in later!

Tuesday An easy 5 miles, broke up a bit between an outside run of 3+ miles, followed by the treadmill to finish up. I was advised not to run the trails due to bears, so I was restricted to the roads around the resort and it wasn’t as easy to find a 5 mile course there. I also got my strength training done for the day. I also did the zip line this afternoon which included a little hike.

Waving goodbye to Montana!

Waving goodbye to Montana!

Wednesday Cross training on the schedule, so more hiking! 3.5 very steep and hilly miles. I also did an excursion up to the very top of Lone Peak mountain in the afternoon, resulting in some extra steps and a sunburn!

Selfie at the top of Lone Peak

Selfie at the top of Lone Peak

Thursday I went out in the morning for a little over 2 miles and planned to finish up with the 4 miles on the schedule during my afternoon break from the meeting. When I headed out again in the afternoon, I actually ended up going close to 5 miles to get in my 7 miles for the week. Ideally, I wouldn’t split up long runs but every once in a while that works best and it has the benefit of running on tired legs from the morning run. This was a really hilly long run! I have a new appreciation for my lower elevation and smoother routes here in Omaha. 🙂

Gorgeous morning hike

Gorgeous morning hike

Friday Cross training – one last long hike of a little over 3 miles!

Saturday Rest day! Literally, with a 3 hour nap with Oliver thrown into the mix.

Sunday Honestly, there’s one run on the schedule this week that I never got to: a 4 mile easy run. I still feel dry and tired so I’m probably going to skip this run. I promise to definitely get the strength work in for my second session this week and may go for a walk so I at least get some cross training. The training plan calls for 3 miles with strides or cross training tomorrow, so maybe I’ll plan on doing 4 miles tomorrow to make up for skipping this one.

I’m curious to see what running feels like on flatter, lower ground tomorrow morning. 🙂 I’m definitely already noticing an improvement in my coordination and strength with the strength training routine, which is exciting! I have to say, it was so nice to spend so much time  exploring while I was in Montana now that I’m in good enough shape to go out and tackle those hills in a way I never would have before.

I hope you all had a great weekend!

6 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: So glad to be home!

  1. So glad you finally made it home! I bet you were exhausted! Your pictures from Montana are gorgeous; so glad you got to enjoy the beautiful scenery. How was ziplining? I’ve always wanted to go. 🙂 Glad you and O had some great quality time. What movie did you end up seeing? Hope you and the hubs had a great date night, too!

    • We saw Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 and he did great! It was our first post-potty training movie and I was worried he’d be too into the movie to either a) remember to hold it or b) get up to take a potty break. We made it through with no worries or accidents at all! It was a great mommy-Oliver morning.

      On Mon, Jul 21, 2014 at 12:36 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. I am glad you made it home and got to spend great quality time with your guys! :0) Awesome job on keeping up with your fitness while traveling this week!

  3. leannenalani says:

    On the flip-side, I stopped strength training a month or two ago and I notice the lack of extra muscle during workouts, especially racquetball.

    Glad you get to be home and happy.

Leave a Reply

