A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Resisting temptation in the face of fatigue and stress

on July 19, 2014

As I write this, I’m sitting at a gate in Minneapolis, waiting for my flight that won’t leave for another 2 hours. My flight got delayed out of Montana, meaning I couldn’t make my connection in Minneapolis and got bumped back to a 10 pm flight. Now, I’m sitting here tired, sad about missing hugs from my guys waiting for me at the airport (so late now that I’ll take a cab home) and seriously regretting the salmon I had for dinner that now has me reflux-y. I suspect it was the incredibly oily spinach more than the salmon and am glad I didn’t eat more of it. My gate is right across from this gorgeous bakery:

Temptation beckons

Temptation beckons

It is full of gorgeous treats. I know because I’ve checked them out. In days past, I would have used a delay like this as an excuse to “treat” myself to all kinds of baked goods and who knows what else. It is honestly very tempting tonight and so I am writing here to remind myself that eating those treats wouldn’t fix things. It wouldn’t get home on time to see my son, who was so excited to come get me at the airport. It wouldn’t make my Zantac kick in faster to undo some of my dinner regrets (who knew sauteed spinach would be that oily!). It wouldn’t save me from the hassle of finding a cab to take me all the way out to Elkhorn from the airport or go back in time so that I could make the decision to drive myself to the airport instead of letting Darrell and Oliver drop me off.

What it would do is add food guilt to my already bad mood and leave me wanting more carbs because I know that carbs make me hungry these days. Instead, I will sit here with the healthy snacks I sought out:

Better choices, but not very sexy

Better choices, but not very sexy

I will remind myself how nice it was to be healthy and active enough to hike around the mountains this week. I will remind myself how absolutely blessed I am that I will get home, and when I do, my loving husband will be there to hold me tight and I will get those toddler hugs and kisses in the morning from my little guy.  The world has been a scary place this week and being delayed in the airport is truly small stuff in comparison.

The bakery shall have no power over me.

 

Fingers crossed.

 

 

4 responses to “Resisting temptation in the face of fatigue and stress

  1. leannenalani says:

    Oh you have more self control than I. :p

  2. Will power tests stink sometimes lol! Sounds like you resisted though! Great job!

    • Thank goodness I’ve finally convinced myself that pastries usually aren’t worth the amount of guilt/binge triggering they’ll cause down the line. 🙂

      On Mon, Jul 21, 2014 at 12:18 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

