A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites from the road

on July 18, 2014

Embarrassing clothing story of the day:

See that tag? Sweater inside out for two hours this am. Sigh.

See that tag? Sweater inside out for two hours. Sigh.

Yesterday, I wore my sweater inside out for two hours before I noticed. I am clearly falling apart and need to get home. πŸ™‚

This week was registration for the Princess Half Marathon. I’m not running this year, but loved it last year and hope all of you aspiring princes and princesses got registered! I’m looking forward to following along with your journeys. One book I read when getting ready for Princess was the Runner’s Guide to Walt Disney World, a travel guide specifically focused on those of us traveling for RunDisney events. I need to pull it out again to read about going out to DisneyLand! They’re doing surveys currently to gather experiences on the 2014 RunDisney events so far, so be sure to go fill out the surveys and help future RunDisney runners with your experiences!

I am so inspired by Shelley, as someone who is maintaining her weight loss successfully and lives such a lovely, normal life while doing it. Sometimes I feel like I’m going to always be worried about what the scale says or what I’ve eaten for the day and on those days, I really value having someone who models successful maintenance to look to. She’s always honest about the ups and downs of it all, but doesn’t seem to be at war with herself or food and that is so refreshing. This week, she wrote about traveling without gaining weight (especially timely given my week away!) and I loved how uncomplicated it was. Taste everything, don’t eat it all, move. It seems so simple and as always, she gives me hope that I’ll get to the point where it is that simple more days than not. πŸ™‚ I’d also secretly like someone like her to sit down and finally teach me to knit!

We’ve talked before about how important it is to view this as a permanent lifestyle change, not a one time event. With that as my perspective, how I could I not absolutely LOVE this post from Dani at WeightOffMyShoulders this week! Then and Now is a much more realistic way to look at our progress than a Before and After. “After” implies that I’m done at some point and I keep setting new goals, so I’m never really “done” enough to be an “after”, am I? It all goes into defining success in a more meaningful and maintainable way. Thanks Dani!

Today I’m waving goodbye to Montana! It’s been fun, but I’m looking forward to being back home with my guys. Send my safe and speedy vibes for my flights home!

Waving goodbye to Montana!

Waving goodbye to Montana!

 

4 responses to “Friday Favorites from the road

  1. Safe travels home! I had no idea there were surveys going on for the events…gonna go do the one for Tink now!

    • I think it’s great that they collect info from people who’ve actually been there! There’s definitely a wide range of experiences to be had.

      On Fri, Jul 18, 2014 at 12:11 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Then and Now is such a great way to view one’s progress! I’m still pondering running Princess this year for a charity but am also mulling over Tink. πŸ™‚ Hope you made it home tonight!!

    • I have heard such great things about Tink! RunDisney is fun anyway you cut it, but I don’t know anyone who has run both Princess and Tink who wouldn’t say Tink was better (which is part of why it is on my running bucket list).

      On Fri, Jul 18, 2014 at 11:44 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

