A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Happy Independence Day!

on July 4, 2014

Two years ago today, I decided to take control of my health and my relationship with food. In that spirit, today I’m celebrating my independence!

I won't see Disney fireworks tonight, but I'm sure they'll be lovely all the same!

I won’t see Disney fireworks tonight, but I’m sure they’ll be lovely all the same!

Now I’m free from so many things:

– The burden of taking medication every morning to control my blood pressure.

– The fear of not fitting in my seatbelt in the plane or the car.

– The depressing hassle of trying everything in my closet to find something that didn’t bind or pinch or make me feel fat and short of breath.

– Feeling ashamed and defeated after binge eating.

– Feeling self conscious about what and how much I ate when I was eating in public.

– Shortness of breath and knee pain any time I had to take the stairs.

– The depression that comes from thinking it will never get better, that I’m not capable of making real changes.

Now I know I am capable of change. I am capable of an amazing number of things when I try and today I celebrate that, along with the independence of our country and my 36th birthday. I hope you all have a safe and wonderful holiday weekend, however you choose to celebrate!

10 responses to “Happy Independence Day!

  1. Kristin says:

    Yaaay!!! You’re awesome!!! What a great post!! I love that you feel strong and healthy!! XOXO!!

  2. Awesome post! Happy Independence Day indeed! (and Happy Birthday!)

  3. Fighting BED says:

    What a great mark for your anniversary. Well done on coming through the other side and taking your life back. Celebrating 2 years down the road must be a wonderful feeling!

  4. What an awesome post for this anniversary mark! I know I have said it before, but congratulations! :0)

  5. […] I can be part of the “bright side” because I know why I do this and I know all of the things I’m free of now thanks to taking those first scary steps three years […]

Leave a Reply

