A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Training plan starts tomorrow!

on June 29, 2014

I’m excited and nervous that my training plan officially starts tomorrow morning! Excited because I’m looking forward to a new challenge and nervous because this is definitely a more ambitious training plan than I’ve done before. I have to say that I’m very impressed so far with the organization of the Des Moines marathon weekend. They have an app for the smart phone with maps, etc and have sent monthly email updates with training tips and information about the event. It definitely helps build anticipation, in addition to the practical information it gives!

 

Looks like my group (women 35-39 half marathoners) will be the biggest!

Looks like my group (women 35-39 half marathoners) will be the biggest!

Workouts

Monday: An  easy, humid 3 miles in the morning – boy am I terrifying in the mirror in my foyer when I come in on these humid mornings! While it is warmer in the evening, it is definitely less humid so I suspect it would feel the same, comfort wise.

Tuesday: 20 minute walk after my movie

Every little bit counts, so I took a little walk around the shopping center.

Every little bit counts, so I took a little walk around the shopping center.

Wednesday: No workout, but I did play a round of  Ticket to Ride with Darrell using the expansion pack I’d gotten him for Father’s Day.  Game night is as good for overall health as any workout, right?

Game night!

Game night!

Thursday: 4 miles in the morning before work – it was nice to see that I could get something longer (not much longer, I know) done before work without getting up exceptionally earlier.

Friday: I was literally about to step on the treadmill to squeak in a quick 3 miles before I started my call weekend at 5 pm when I got called to come in and help out early. Surely the fact that I was already dressed counts for something right?

Saturday: 2.33 miles quickly squeezed in between prepping for a party we were attending that evening and work. I also got lots of sets of stairs in at the party going back and forth between the adult party upstairs and checking on O down in the kid zone in the basement!

Sunday: Today, I’m planning on something nice and easy since the training plan starts officially tomorrow. As of right now, I’m at 47.2 miles running for the month, so tomorrow’s workout (3 miles with 3 strides thrown in) will put me over my 50 mile goal for the month of June!

My birthday is next week and I’ve been enjoying the flood of coupons and free things that always come from the various businesses we patronize at this time of year. I laughed at myself a little for being more excited to get my Jason’s Deli coupon than I was the free dessert coupon from a local Italian place. My how things change 🙂

image

 

6 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Training plan starts tomorrow!

  1. Kristin says:

    Yaaay!!! What great runs!!! XOXO!!! Have a fabulous start to your week tomorrow!! XOXO!!

  2. Happy (almost) start to your next training plan! I think it always a little nerve wracking before you get into the thick of the program. You got this! (And I agree, game night is definitely good for overall health. Mental agility is equally important!) Congrats on reaching your mileage for June; that is awesome! I love the birthday e-mails, too ,but I admit I’m really looking forward to my free birthday cupcake this year from my favorite cupcake shop! 🙂

    • I find myself looking ahead and getting nervous about certain runs but I have to remind myself that I’ll be ready for them when I get to them. That’s what training is for. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. Awesome job this week! I love when races are organized, it makes life so much easier! :0)

Leave a Reply

