A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Shrimp & Corn Succotash Salad

on June 23, 2014

We tried out a new recipe Friday that the whole family loved, so I thought I’d share. This was inspired by a recipe in this month’s Cooking Light magazine. Oliver and I went through the new edition of Cooking Light at our Sunday morning breakfast date last weekend and he helped me pick out things that looked yummy. He also helped me actually make this dish and both he and my hubby liked it, so it was a winner all around for healthy family living! Cooking Light doesn’t have the recipe up yet for me to link the original, so I’ll just tell you how we did it (which was an easier, lazier way than the original).

Ingredients

3/4 lb shrimp, shelled and deveined

2 tbsp olive oil

1 cup chicken stock

3 cups shelled edamame

Hubby bought lots of individual packets of edamame - I did loads of opening little packages.

Hubby bought lots of individual packets of edamame – I did loads of opening little packages.

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp hot sauce (We added this to individual dishes rather than in the whole bowl, as O was eating)

2 tbsp sour cream

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1 tsp ranch dressing seasoning mix (the recipe called for tarragon and dill, neither of which I had so this was my sub)

Saute garlic in olive oil until fragrant. Add the chicken stock, edamame and shrimp and saute for 5-7 minutes or until shrimp are nearly opaque. Stir in the corn, ranch seasoning, salt and pepper. Transfer to serving dish and toss with the sour cream. For the adult dishes, we served this tossed with salad greens and the hot sauce. O ate his alone (and ate it even though all of the components were mixed together! Major toddler victory!) without the lettuce because he’s not so into salad.

Shrimp corn succotash salad

Shrimp corn succotash salad

This was a great, fresh summer meal. I’ll be having the leftovers for cold lunches this week and will definitely let you know if it doesn’t hold up well but I suspect it will. I’ll be sure to update this with the Cooking Light recipe link when it is available. Their version included homemade shrimp stock from the shells, which I’m sure was delicious but my version was weeknight doable. Really, you could probably microwave the corn and edamame and use cooked shrimp (like a cocktail tray)  if you were in a hurry.

We’ve gotten in the habit of eating three different meals far too often (toddler food for O, WW food for me and normal food for Darrell) so something like this, that works for all of us, was a great change of pace. We’ll definitely be testing out some new recipes this summer for the whole family and I’ll keep you posted with the winners like this one. For most of the last two years, shrimp was the only meat O would reliably eat so this was a good starting point for us.

Do you have any new recipes to share?

3 responses to “Shrimp & Corn Succotash Salad

  1. Looks delish! I also love that it doesn’t have too many ingredients too it but still would have a lot of flavor to it!

  2. […] and picking out something new to cook while we’re there. He’s the one who picked the shrimp succotash recipe from Cooking Light that we loved and he’s also picked shrimp and black bean […]

Leave a Reply

