A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: New training plan has arrived!

on June 22, 2014

I spent far too much time this week going through the new training plan for my half marathon and checking it against the other things on my calendar for the next few months. There is something so soothing about list-making and calendar sorting. šŸ™‚ Or maybe that’s just me?

I’ll need to update the half marathon training plan page here on the blog. As of June 30th, I’ll be back on a training plan and looking forward to it. In the meantime, my plan to ramp up my running this month so I’m ready for the workouts that are coming soon is going well. I’m on track to hit my June goal of 50 miles, which is a good feeling.

Workouts

Monday 15 minute walk around campus between meetings – I’m really enjoying getting out for a little walk during the day! I’m so much more productive after a little bit of a break outside.

Tuesday 3.22 miles in 36:36, a nice easy pace. I’d planned on 3 miles but tacked on a little extra for Laura’s virtual 5K to celebrate her blog’s one year anniversary.

I know they're weeds, but they're lovely weeds!

I know they’re weeds, but they’re lovely weeds!

Wednesday 35 minutes of walking

Thursday 3 miles running in 36 minutes for a nice easy warm up for my new shoes, which felt lovely! It made up for the tough, early morning due to Oliver’s aquarium battery dying. It’s amazing how much little things like that will screw up your morning!

New shoes!

New shoes!

Friday Rest day!

Saturday The rain stopped so we all headed out to run at the lake for the Happy Camper 5K. I ran the 5K and then as a family, we ran/walked the 1 mile afterwards. I decided that counted as my “long run” as the week, especially as I was either running with Oliver during the one mile part or carrying my 35 pound toddler during the rest of the mile. It all felt as physically taxing as a 4-5 mile run would have been! Given the soggy conditions, I decided to back off on my time goal of less than 33 minutes that I’d set back when I made my June goals. I love running around this lake, but with the path being covered in wet leaves after the storms overnight, I didn’t want to risk falling. I’ve already crashed on part of this race course on a long run back in Princess Half Marathon training so I know how treacherous it can be. Surprisingly, even with the soggy conditions, grassy patches, sections of trail, and stopping for pictures, I finished in 32:40. That bodes well for my goal to pick up a real 5K PR sometime later this year.

Soggy run at Lake Zorinsky

Soggy run at Lake Zorinsky

Sunday Today, I think I’ll just do whatever I want for a workout! No real plan – just moving in whatever sounds fun once I get done with this morning’s breakfast date with Oliver, grocery shopping and Weight Watchers meeting.

Here’s hoping you all have a lovely Sunday!

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: New training plan has arrived!

  1. Thanks for doing the virtual 5K for my blogiversary!! šŸ™‚ I’m so glad you are doing 13.Fun! How awesome! I start my training plan on the 30th, too! Great job on the Happy Camper 5K, too! That is a great time! And carrying Oliver around for much of the last mile definitely counts as a long run! Hope you had a great weekend!

    • In asking Oliver about it, he says that running wasn’t as fun as the carnival afterwards. He was definitely wiped out though! We got great long naps all weekend after such an active Saturday morning, which always makes for a nice weekend. šŸ™‚

      On Sun, Jun 22, 2014 at 10:21 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Yay almost time to start training again!! I hope I can start my Wine & Dine/Dopey training soon. Go away ITBS!! lol

    Great job this week!

    • You definitely need to be completely healed up before Dopey training starts! That’s going to be intense but so fun!

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 1:59 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

