A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Welcome to summer!

on June 20, 2014

Summer officially starts this weekend, but with the weather around here it feels like we’ve been well underway with summer for weeks now. To kick off summer and to celebrate the one year anniversary of her blog, Laura is having a virtual 5K. Be sure to go over and check it out!

I love the Oatmeal and have linked it here before. This week, I was dying laughing at the pie chart about dieting, particularly as I was at Free Pie Wednesday at Village Inn while I was reading it. I also really enjoyed this article about the author of the Oatmeal cartoons, Matthew Inman. I can completely and totally relate to the things he said about the “fear of the beast catching him and reverting him back to his former self, an obese, insecure kid.”

I found myself nodding along with April’s post about how hard it can be take comments from others about our workout efforts, well meaning though they might be. I always did a lot of second guessing when I got comments when I was overweight that were encouraging “good for you” kind of people who were in obviously better shape than I was. I’m sure they were truly trying to be encouraging, but my brain always went to the same places April’s did – “Do I really look like someone who doesn’t workout/run/whatever?” Because of this, I tend to smile and wave when I cross other people working out, regardless of whether they’re heavy/fit/whatever rather than say anything encouraging. I know from my own experience that those comments may not be heard with the same good will as I’m saying them. I stick with smiles and good vibes and lots of mental kudos. πŸ™‚

Speaking of comments from bystanders, I had to get a new driver’s license this week. As my picture has changed quite a bit, I thought it was a good idea to go in to get a new one.

In Nebraska, we get temporary paper licenses, which are just a little weird. Also, wish I'd smiled for the new picture.

In Nebraska, we get temporary paper licenses, which are just a little weird. Also, wish I’d smiled for the new picture.

I definitely have a more defined jaw line now. The girl at the counter asked how I’d lost weight (side note: in all the people who have ever asked about me losing weight, only one ever asked to be sure I hadn’t been sick, which I’ve always found interesting). I answered Weight Watchers, which is usually enough because most people know how the program works in broad strokes. I was startled and stammered a very inarticulate answer when she asked how WW works because she’d heard of it but didn’t know anything about it. I think my answer something very awkward to the effect of “well, you get a certain amount of food you’re allowed to eat each day and you know, you just eat less and less”. I’m sure I was very helpful and inspirational for that girl. LOL

I hope you all have a great weekend! We’re doing a family 1 mile fun run tomorrow. Wish us all luck! Oliver says he and I will run fast and beat Daddy. πŸ™‚

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Welcome to summer!

  1. Congratulations on your weight loss and new license!!! You look great! I can’t wait until I’m at the point where I need a new license – also, when I’m to the point that the weight I put on my license isn’t a lie anymore! LOL

  2. d20girl says:

    Thanks for the conversation about my post! And congratulations on your transformation! Temporary paper licenses are strange, it seems like they’d be super easy to counterfeit!

  3. I love The Oatmeal. Their recent comic about dos and don’ts for your first marathon cracked me up!! I think all the laughing gave me a great abs workout :0)

    • The Oatmeal is definitely good for laughing and therefore good for everything about our health. πŸ™‚ I loved the marathon one too!

      On Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 2:02 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

