A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Getting ready for summer!

on June 17, 2014

I love when there seems to be a convergence of lots of bloggers thinking about the same topics. After getting a headache from under-hydrating and under-electrolyting on my longer run last week, I was reminded that warm weather was coming and I needed to get myself back into the summer running mindset. It’s amazing how much things change! It seems like just yesterday I was worried about gloves and ear warmers! As I was pondering the things I needed to get ready for summer running (and of course the resulting blog post that would generate, because this is where I brain dump after all) I saw that Jodi over at 2 Princesses on the Run also had a post (complete with a giveaway!)on Monday about getting ready for running in the heat.

Things that I try to keep in mind when I’m out running when the weather heats up:

Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate! Not just during the run, but after the run and in the days surrounding your long run. This doesn’t mean just water, which is where I screwed up last week. It also means electrolytes, so be sure to use whatever electrolyte replacement you like best (Gatorade, Powerade, Nuun – my fave, extra salty foods, whatever). As excited as I am to see Diet Dr. Pepper finally show up in the vending machine in my office building, I should be focused more on water with Nuun as my mileage ramps up than on soda. 🙂

Diet Dr Pepper

Sunscreen! I also need to work on this one. I’m fortunate to have skin that tans really easily and rarely burns. I can count on one hand the number of sunburns I’ve ever had, all mild and all while I’m on the water. Just because I don’t burn easily doesn’t mean that the sun isn’t doing damage when I’m out without any sunscreen. I need to be better about protecting my skin while I’m out this summer.

Light colored clothes and more tanks: I’ve added a couple of Mizuno tanks to my birthday wishlist after realizing I have absolutely zero running tanks. I’m not sure how I got through last summer, but now I’m very cognizant of not wanting farmer tan lines on my arms from running in t-shirts. 🙂

Try to time runs for cooler times of day, like early morning or evening: Especially with the longer days, I try to take advantage of the evening daylight to head out for shorter runs. Looking for a shaded path can also be helpful.

Sunglasses From a pure vanity perspective, I try to remember to wear sunglasses to minimize the squinting I’m doing and the resultant eye wrinkles. 🙂 Also, a lot of bright sun can actually hurt my eyes and be really distracting when I’m trying to run.

Sweat wicking headband or hat: Keeping sweat out my eyes (and especially keeping the sunscreen from dripping down into my eyes) definitely helps with the comfort factor.

Most importantly, pay attention to how you feel and don’t over do it. Slow down if you need to and shorten your run if you need to. It isn’t worth getting sick from heat stroke or other heat related illness.

The last truly important thing is to avoid looking in the mirror when I come in from running on a hot summer day because I look like a hot mess. 🙂 Oliver always tells me I look a lion when I come in from a warm weather run.

What’s your favorite advice for running when it gets warm? Don’t forget to head over to enter Jodi’s handana giveaway!

6 responses to “Getting ready for summer!

  1. Great tips! Have you tried Bondi Bands yet? They are perfect for keeping the sweat out of your eyes!

  2. Kristin says:

    Ohhhh, great tips!!! Definitely!! I’ve been extremely busy coaching outside in 90 degree weather!! I get up, run outside, then coach outside for hours in the sun, so….your tips are fabulous!!! I definitely pay attention to how I feel and definitely always stay hydrated!!! XOXO!!!

Leave a Reply

