A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A very sore Monday morning!

on June 16, 2014

I am feeling every one of my 35 years this morning! We had a great Father’s Day yesterday, with O and I going out for our usual breakfast date to allow Darrell to sleep in. We brought him a pecan roll home and opened a few gifts:

I'm not really crafty, but we did paint a canvas this year and decoupage a map featuring the places all 3 of us were born onto it. My once a year arts & crafts effort!

I’m not really crafty, but we did paint a canvas this year and decoupage a map featuring the places all 3 of us were born onto it. My once a year arts & crafts effort!

We spent some time playing outside and decided to go out for a bike ride. We hooked the trailer up Darrell’s bike and I got on mine and we headed out to circle the neighborhood. At this point, I have to confess to feeling a smug about how much easier it was for me to ride up and down the hills than it was for Darrell. It didn’t feel like hard work at all, even after switching so that I was the one hauling our 35 pound kid in the trailer. Famous last words (or thoughts as it were).

Later in the afternoon, I headed out to do the speed work I had planned for the week. I’d spent the day reading a book about tempo runs and intervals and the purposes and paces for the different for someone like me and I was feeling like a capital R Runner. After all, hadn’t I just recapped a week in which I had my longest run since the Princess Half Marathon, got my strength training in and a great easy run on Saturday? Naturally, that meant the first time I started to go “fast” I was stunned by how hard it felt! I didn’t make it through all of the first planned interval before I slowed down but told myself that was because I came to an intersection and needed to stop. I had no such excuse for the second interval that got cut even shorter!

Apparently, the biking took more out of my legs than I expected. In my defense, it was hilly and we did haul O and we haven’t gone bike riding in a long time. I made myself run a couple of hills and called it good for a workout. Thankfully, I was laughing at my humbling little run more than being upset by it. šŸ™‚

1.5 miles at 10:45 overall pace doesn't quite look like speed work does it?

1.5 miles at 10:45 overall pace doesn’t quite look like speed work does it?

It did bring to mind a long ago trip to Hawaii, when I was in no kind of shape to be hiking around and yet we went out to hike some cliff with whale watching in the morning. In the afternoon, we went out to hike up Diamond Head (a volcanic crater) and my legs just wouldn’t GO. We just tried again another day and that’s the beautiful thing in life – there will be another day for a better run. šŸ™‚

Today, I’ll walk and do some yoga for my aching muscles. Have a good week everyone!

8 responses to “A very sore Monday morning!

  1. Great weekend even despite the soreness! šŸ™‚

    • It was a great weekend and totally worth looking like a woman twice my age hobbling out of bed this morning. šŸ™‚

      On Mon, Jun 16, 2014 at 8:14 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Glad to hear y’all had a wonderful Father’s Day! I love the craft you made.

    Biking takes so much leg work it is crazy! I can’t imagine doing speed work right after a hilly bike ride, you go girl!

  3. Kristin says:

    Great workouts!!! Being sore is tough, but that shows you’re working hard!! XOXO!!

  4. Oh, I love your Father’s Day present for your husband! It turned out beautifully! Such a great idea! šŸ™‚ Does O like the bike trailer? I’m itching to get back into biking, but we’d definitely need a trailer for Jack. While I think he would like it, I’d love to know how O adapted to it (also does it have a safety belt?). Proud of you for getting out there after a bike ride and doing speedwork! You are absolutely right, there is always another day! I’m going to keep this in mind myself! Hope yoga helped to work out some of those aches!

    • He loves the trailer! It has straps and we have him wear a helmet when he’s in it, so it feels safe in our neighborhood although we’d be nervous to take it out on any bigger roads. We’re hoping to get some use out of it in the park this summer!

Leave a Reply

