A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A “Fun” package of running toys for 13.FUN and a GIVEAWAY

on June 14, 2014

I got back from my run on Thursday to find a much anticipated package in my mail box. I signed up for the second Another Mother Runner virtual half marathon, 13.FUN, and knew I would be getting a package sometime this month filled with goodies and I was not disappointed!

Love that I got a little swag bag for a virtual race!

Love that I got a little swag bag for a virtual race!

In a couple of weeks, we’ll get the official training plans and the sign up info for the Strava group and newsletters. In the meantime, they sent us samples of some fuel options. There’s another tube of Nuun. I love Nuun and will need a lot of it out running this summer. I also got some Gu chomps (black cherry – yum), passion fruit flavored Roctane and Salted Watermelon Gu. I’m really looking forward to the Salted Watermelon Gu! I just heard about it on a podcast earlier this week and was excited about it because I loved salted watermelon when I was a kid. These days, I skip the salt on my watermelon but I’m looking forward to trying this out. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Also, I got 3 pairs of socks to try out. I like to try out new brands of socks to see what works and doesn’t and anytime I can get a deal on the socks instead of paying the crazy prices for running socks just to test out a new brand, that’s a good thing, right?

Lastly, the packet included a signed copy of Train Like a Mother. I already have and love this book (and reviewed it here), so I’m passing this on to someone else! It’s a great training reference, whether your a mother runner or any other kind of runner, with multiple training plans for different distances, strength training, trouble shooting and a healthy sense of humor. If you’d like a copy, just leave me a note with a recommendation for the next book I should read. I just finished the new Harry Dresden book Skin Game (wizard private eye – hard to explain, but fun) and am about halfway through The Golem and the Jinni, so I’m looking for my next summer reading adventure.

Leave me a note with a book recommendation! I’ll keep the book giveaway open until next Saturday and look forward to sharing the love!

*If you don’t need / want the book, still give me any good book recs you have and just let me know to leave you out of the giveaway! Sorry, but US only please as I’ll be mailing the book out. Also, this is not a sponsored post – only my own opinions and the book included as part of the registration for 13.FUN that I paid for my self.

9 responses to “A “Fun” package of running toys for 13.FUN and a GIVEAWAY

  1. KarenK says:

    I always recommend What Alice Forgot by L Moriarty. Read it several years ago but it has really stuck with me. Happy reading!
    KarenK

  2. If you’re looking for a good read, The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom is amazing! If you want a really interesting education read, What Makes Olga Run by Bruce Grierson is phenomenal.

  3. Salted watermelon Nuun? That sounds amazing! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.

    As for a book recommendation… I say Harry Potter, Hunger Games, or the Angels & Demons Dan Brown series (Angels & Demons, The DaVinci Code, Lost Symbol)!

    • All books I love. šŸ™‚ No wonder we’re friends! It has been a while since I re-read Harry Potter, now that I think about it. I can’t wait until O is old enough to read them! Or until we go back to Florida again and can check out Diagon Alley!

      On Mon, Jun 16, 2014 at 11:51 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  4. Tina says:

    Do you like Neil Gaiman? I love Stardust. CLASSIC!!! Or his newest The Ocean at the End of the Lane! they are awesome

  5. […] for all of the great book recommendations! The winner (per random.org) of the signed copy of Train Like a Mother is Annmarie at […]

Leave a Reply

