A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Workouts I’ve pinned lately

on June 13, 2014

I’ve found myself pinning a lot of different strength and flexibility workouts lately in anticipation of half marathon training, so I thought I’d focus on those for my Friday favorites this week.

Strength training

This resistance band workout looks very doable on the road, so I’m definitely going to try this one out on my trip to Montana next month. Resistance bands take up almost no room in luggage, so there’s no excuse for not bringing them along! I love the workouts that Laura offers. Check out this strength workout for runners and this pilates workout. This kettlebell workout from SparkPeople also looks fun!

Stretching

I love SparkPeople for workout videos. There are a ton of different options. I’ve pinned the stretching for runners video and the yoga-pilates fusion videos and have used both when traveling. I love having free options for workouts in hotel rooms! I also pinned a post from Miss Zippy this week with a stability exercise to try. My balance is horrible and I definitely to incorporate this type of exercise into my routine! There was also a surprisingly approachable and good yoga post on the Target blog recently (here) that I worked through last night and it really helped my sore hips from my run.

I linked this over on Facebook and it isn’t really related to my little workout theme, but definitely check out this post about the experience of running at the back of a race rather than the front. We’re all runners and all deserve a good experience, so I hope that race directors are paying attention to things like this. That was one of my favorite things to see with RunDisney, was the fact that the last runners got hoopla at the finish, just like the first (including a special celebration for the very last runner!). No matter when you cross the finish line, that is a sweet moment to be celebrated. I’ll also try to hang around and cheer on the runners behind me more often.

Every finish should be celebrated!

Every finish should be celebrated!

Have a great weekend everyone! Tomorrow, I’ll have my very first giveaway up on the blog!

 

5 responses to “Friday Favorites: Workouts I’ve pinned lately

  1. Pinterest is seriously the best!!

  2. Kristin says:

    Fabulous workouts!!! Have a wonderful weekend!!! XOXO!!!!

  3. misszippy1 says:

    Thank you so much for including me! Let me know what you think of the stability move if you try it. I am finally getting slightly better at it!

Leave a Reply

