A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Hopefully the Force will be with me . . .

on June 12, 2014

My husband teases me about always booking another trip right before our family vacations. I flew back home from a speaking engagement in North Carolina the day before we left for our Disney cruise and flew back home from my godson’s baptism in Indiana a few days before our Disney trip for the Princess Half Marathon in 2014. Naturally, with a cruise planned for February 2015 he asked where I would be going in late January.

Did I mention that Han Solo was my first crush?

 

A Hans Solo action figure from an old boy friend, who knew who my real first love was :)

A Hans Solo action figure from an old boy friend, who knew who my real first love was 🙂

Yep, I did it. I’m going out to Disneyland for my first California RunDisney race. It’ll actually be my first trip to Disneyland period and I’ll be going without my two guys. Darrell laughed and said I was nuts, but agreed that I could go out and do it. As registration neared, I spent a lot of time thinking about what I was going to do . . .

I love that he couldn't quite figure out "cuckoo". It took me a second to figure out that he was trying to say I was nuts.

I love that he couldn’t quite figure out “cuckoo”. It took me a second to figure out that he was trying to say I was nuts.

Yep, I’m in for the Rebel Challenge. 10K Saturday and Half Marathon Sunday. This may be the only time I go all the way out to California for a race, so I should maximize the opportunity, right? I’ve heard fantastic things about the 10K course in Disneyland. Plus, I would feel guilty spending so much time on run-oriented things (early bedtime, special food, actually running, recovering, etc) on a family vacation but since it’ll be just me this time, it seemed like a good time to try this challenge. Looking at the Jeff Galloway training plans for the Glass Slipper Challenge, it also likes the timing will work well for me to start the back to back part of the training cycle a week or two after my half marathon in Des Moines in October.

I’m looking forward to the challenge and logistics of doing back to back races. After running Des Moines with a definite time goal in mind, I didn’t want to immediately jump back into training to try to beat that time or have a better race (if that one doesn’t go well). I like that doing the Rebel Challenge will be a completely different kind of goal. Plus, it will hopefully encourage me to slow down and soak it all up while I’m there!

Best husband ever (enabler!)

Best husband ever (enabler!)

Of course, running California in 2015 also means that if I’m going to try for a Coast to Coast, this will be the year, so it looks like I’ll be sitting on the button to get into Wine and Dine for 2015 as well. We’ll have a crazy Disney running and vacation budget for 2015  between two running events, the cruise and a WDW vacation (which we were already planning for November/December so O could see the Christmas decorations before he starts school). Looks like we’ll be picking up lots of Disney gift cards in the checkout line! That 5% discount adds up!

stormtrooper pez

Anybody else in for Star Wars?

 

9 responses to “Hopefully the Force will be with me . . .

  1. I am so incredibly jealous! Have fun! I wish it was in Florida though!

  2. AWESOME!! I am so excited for you! Wish I was running in 2015 but I can’t wait to see all your pics and read your recaps!

  3. In the Mouse House says:

    Best of luck!

  4. Kristin says:

    WOW!!!! I looooove it!!!! So cool! You’re going to have an awesome time!!! XOXO!!!

  5. […] to meet my goal of running 50 miles in the month of June. I’ve also taken the plunge and signed up for the Rebel Challenge (10K Saturday, Half Marathon Sunday) at Star Wars weekend in January 2015, which means that once my […]

Leave a Reply

