A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Crossing Oklahoma off the 50 states list didn’t look like I expected

on June 9, 2014

Oliver and I just survived an 8+ hour road trip (each way) down to Oklahoma to visit my parents. While I was nervous about the road trip, I was looking forward to running in a new state in particular because I knew my parents place in Oklahoma was near a park where O could play on the playground with my mom while I went to run in the park around them. I love that my dad mentioned that specifically to me because he knew I’d want to run while I was down there (not that my parents know about my little self-challenge). My dad just knows it’s an important part of my life now. πŸ™‚

I happily packed up my running gear and O and I had already discussed the plan. The road trip down went surprisingly well, other than a brief outburst about an hour into the drive when O cried for 5 minutes asking to go home. Really, out of an 8+ hour drive, that was remarkably better than I expected. He watched movies, ate snacks and played games while I was able to listen to a newly discovered (for me) podcast that I’m loving, NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour. Zero potty accidents and we actually got complimented on his behavior several times when we stopped along the trip – mom & toddler wins all around! He was so excited to get to see my parents that I screwed up and let him stay up past his normal bedtime.

O is very much a sleep-begets-sleep kind of kid, so being overtired at bedtime spells disaster. He didn’t fuss or cry and he fell asleep okay in bed with me. We usually co-sleep when we travel, even though we never do at home, and I’d brought my foam roller to use under the fitted sheet as a makeshift bedrail on his side of the bed. He fell asleep okay, but woke up at 2 am and was pretty much awake continually between 2 and 4:50 am when my dad got up for work. He didn’t cry or fuss. He just happily talked to himself and to me any time he noticed I was awake. At 4:50, when he heard my dad get up, there was no keeping him in bed anymore. Of course, being that tired he got whiny and needed a morning nap, throwing the day off from the very beginning.

From that bad baseline, we added a corn dog from Sonic. We really aren’t fast food people at this point in our lives, so O’s little stomach is not used to anything that fried. He spent the rest of the afternoon sick. He seemed to feel better at one point, so we attempted the park/run plan. He played with my mom while I headed out to run around the big field at the park. It was interesting running “off road” for this pavement-pounding girl.

O and Nana at playground

O and Nana at playground

A little over half a mile around this little field.

A little over half a mile around this little field.

I made it around one lap before checking in to find that my little guy wasn’t in the mood to be without mama after all, so I got in just over half a mile before my running workout turned into a rock wall climbing, sliding and jungle gym-ing workout with Oliver instead.

Sliding with O

We went up this little rock wall several times, which wore O out!

We went up this little rock wall several times, which wore O out!

While I was a little disappointed to get such a short run in, it was great to play with O for a while too. When we’re visiting other people, it’s nice to have a little time with just the two of us to decompress. Playground time can be a surprisingly good workout, which I appreciated because I’ve gotten used to getting regular exercise in and after driving and spending a lot of time sitting and “visiting” it was nice to MOVE. While I could have mentally used the relief of a long run after our bad night of sleep and bad sick-tummy day, I know he needed mommy time more. Thankfully, he was feeling back to normal by the next day after a better night of sleep and getting rid that hot dog out of his system.

I still get to check Oklahoma off the list, as the GPS tracked the circumference of the field as a little over 0.6 miles, so my running for the weekend was met. πŸ™‚

6 responses to “Crossing Oklahoma off the 50 states list didn’t look like I expected

  1. Kristin says:

    Such cute pictures and although it wasn’t quite what you expected it to be, I’m glad you got to cross Oklahoma off of your list!! XOXO!! Happy Monday!!! πŸ˜‰

  2. Kids have a way of making us change our schedule, uh? πŸ™‚
    When I’m away or on vacation or have any other relevant change, I know most likely anything fitness/health related will get switched around.

    • I’m getting better at taking these kid-triggered schedule disruptions in stride. πŸ™‚ It’s just part of the mom job most days.

      On Mon, Jun 9, 2014 at 8:35 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. Wow he is a great traveler!! Glad y’all had a fun time in Oklahoma :0)

Leave a Reply

