A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Getting ready for a road trip!

on June 5, 2014

This week, Oliver and I will hit the road to go visit my parents down in Oklahoma. Wish me lots of luck and patience driving 8 hours with a 2 year old!

I’ve talked before about preparing healthy snacks for a road trip, but I thought I’d share the rest of my slightly obsessive planning routine for a road trip. My husband makes so much fun of me for my lists, but it really does help me!

–          Plan a bag and cooler full of healthy road trip snacks and lunch for the road, in case we don’t see any choices that look appealing while driving. This is actually as much for Oliver as for me, as my guy doesn’t really eat chicken nuggets or other typical kids menu fare. If we can find a Chipotle (seriously, a two year old saying “guac-y-mole” is the cutest thing ever) or Panera, he’d be happy but I can’t count on that driving out the middle of nowhere between here and Oklahoma.

road trip snack bag

–          Look at my workout plan for the week and adjust it to account for the travel. For me, this means getting my long run in earlier in the week, before the road trip and it also means debating about what workout, if any, I’ll do on the actual day of the trip. I could (and probably will) run before O gets up, so I get my workout done I get in the car. If I go that route, it needs to be an easy run because stressing my muscles too much and then trapping them for 8 hours in a vehicle would not be comfortable. I look enough like an old lady getting out of the car as it is when I drive for a while! We might get a mini workout in running around a rest area if we find a good one along the way. We’ll be hooking up with family as soon as we arrive and it would be rude to say “Hi, great to see you, take the kid while I go run” so as much as a nice shake out run after the drive would feel, it probably isn’t in the cards.

–          Of course, I started writing my detailed packing list (including what goes in which bag) weeks ago. List making soothes my nerves!

–          Download several hours of podcasts or an audio book I’ve already heard. This will keep me entertained on the road while O is asleep or watching movies but won’t be something I feel frustrated by missing out on when I have to occasionally pause or turn things down to talk to O. He loves playing “I Spy” so I anticipate lots of interruptions along the way. Right now, I’m thinking I’ll bring lots of “Wait, wait, don’t tell me” and either the Harry Potter or Dresden Files audiobooks.

–          Look at the map to plan ahead for big cities that might have more food options and rest areas that might make good play stops. I know enough about driving out here in the great wide open to know you don’t want to miss an exit because it could be miles before you get the chance to go back!

–          This time, knowing I’m driving down through Kansas and Oklahoma during tornado season, I looked ahead at the weather and checked to remind myself what to do if there’s a tornado alert while we’re on the road.

–          Check the tires in the car and any other car maintenance issues. Nobody wants to call AAA when you’re stranded on the side of the road, but especially not with a toddler! (And note to self: check to be sure I have my AAA card up to date!)

What do you do to get ready for a road trip? Send us good vibes for safe and stress-free (or relatively stress-less travels)!

6 responses to “Getting ready for a road trip!

  1. Kristin says:

    Have a great trip!!!! I’m thinking about ya and I know you will have a lovely time!! It sounds like you are prepared and ready to go!!! XOXO!!! I love your bag of snacks!! Great idea!!

    • It went remarkably well, all things considered! I’m glad to be safely back home though (and we’ll fly next time!)

      On Thu, Jun 5, 2014 at 1:39 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Hope you and O have a great (and safe) trip! The snack bag is a great idea and so is looking ahead to the weather (Nick and I had a beast of a drive to OH in Feb. because I didn’t check the weather and a 9 hour trip took us 14 because it snowed the entire way) and planning your stops ahead of time. As far as keeping O occupied, we played our fair share of I Spy, too, which was fun but does wear out fast. We also did 20 questions or you could make up a story with each of you saying a line and alternating back and forth. The other thing I like to do is bring a brand new toy (or toys) that is inexpensive and give that to the boys at some point in the trip, after we’ve run out of games, movies, etc. It also helped bringing a brand new movie that the boys hadn’t seen (Frozen just happened to come out the Tuesday before we went to OH for my dad’s memorial service) so they weren’t tired of it by that point and they actually watched it a few times over and it kept their interest. Most movies they’ve seen so many times already and they get bored within the first half hour or so. I hope you have a great time with your family!

    • The new toy idea is a great one. I got O the latches board from Melissa and Doug and he saw it for the first time on this trip. It bought me 30 minutes of quiet time while he was back there opening and closing things over and over. I had a big sheet of bubble wrap for the return trip. You can’t beat the entertainment value of bubble wrap. 🙂

      On Thu, Jun 5, 2014 at 5:57 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. Your list is something I would totally do as well! Hope you have a safe and fun trip, try to keep your good mood no matter what, and don’t sweat the small stuff. Things are going to be a little different when away, so pick your battles.

    • You’re right about picking your battles! It makes it especially hard when well meaning family members are dismissing behavior things that you’ve been trying to work on with your kids. I just tried to stick with the one or two most important things and take everything else in stride, so long as it wasn’t dangerous. I think we’re all happy to be back to our normal routine though!

      On Thu, Jun 5, 2014 at 8:24 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

