A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

National Running Day is tomorrow!

on June 3, 2014

Tomorrow is National Running Day! My husband and I were chatting last week about how he now notices races posted in shop windows and things around the community. I now notice things like National Running Day, which was definitely not on my radar a little while ago!

National Running Day Logo 2014In addition to celebrating by heading out for a run (of course!), I thought I would look back at my running goals for the year and my 50 state challenge to see how things are going.

My goals for the year were:

1) Cross the finish line of my first half marathon – done! See here and here, but really this photo says it all right?

755070-1016-0047s

2) Incorporate speed work into my regular running routine, which I’ve started doing and actually enjoy quite a bit! Look forward to stepping it further when the next half marathon training plan starts.

3) Work towards a new 5K PR – not yet, but hopefully after the Des Moines half marathon. I think the speed work and other training of this new half marathon training plan will really help.

4) Running a second half marathon with a time goal – on deck for October!

5) Volunteer at a running event – I haven’t found a chance yet. So many events have huge time commitments, which is hard as a working mom, or have come up on times I’m traveling. I joined the Omaha Running Club and am on the lookout for a good opportunity.

As far as the 50 states challenge is concerned, this week I should be checking Oklahoma off the list while I’m down visiting family, which brings me up to 15 states, which is not bad for less than 2 years of running. In the next 4 months, I’ll be checking off Montana and Iowa and potentially Wyoming off the list as well.

Running has brought me so much, in terms of health, sanity and seeing the world in ways I never have before and I’m looking forward to celebrating this odd little holiday 🙂 Here’s hoping you have a good Tuesday, no matter what you’re celebrating!

Some of my favorite running posts:

Run-i-versary

Running allows me to see things

A year in running

 

 

 

 

9 responses to “National Running Day is tomorrow!

  1. Even though I won’t be able to run tomorrow, I’ll still go for a walk at least! Gotta fix this ITBS!

    • At least you have an official diagnosis and a timeline for getting better! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you and know you’ll be running in your soul 🙂

      On Tue, Jun 3, 2014 at 9:54 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Kristin says:

    How cool!!!! National Running Day!! I can’t wait to celebrate with a run!! YAAAY!!! I love your goals and I know you’ll achieve your 5k PR and everything else your heart desires!! XOXO!

    • I woke up early and couldn’t get back to sleep, so celebrated Running Day with a humid early morning run 🙂 I hope you have a great day!

      On Tue, Jun 3, 2014 at 11:22 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. Isn’t funny the things we now notice as runners? I never knew until last year that there was a National Running Day! Love the update on your running goals (and proud of you for doing speed work…and liking it! I need to follow your example!). Happy National Running Day, my friend!

  4. […] I woke up early for no good reason, so I decided to celebrate National Running Day by heading out for a 3 mile run early in the morning. It was a peaceful way to start my day, which […]

  5. […] looking back at my prior years’ reflections to see how my thoughts on running have changed (2014 and […]

Leave a Reply

