A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

June Goals

on June 2, 2014

I can’t believe it’s already the beginning of June! Looking back at my goals for May, I actually did pretty well, which is a nice change of pace from the prior two months.

My goals for May:

–          Finish the 100 mile challenge: Between April 1 and May 31, I covered 112 miles!

–          Run the Boys Town 5 mile Memorial Day run: Done and anxiously awaiting photos online to see O cross the finish line!

He wanted to wear it like a medal. My guy is all about the bling, just like mama!

He wanted to wear it like a medal. My guy is all about the bling, just like mama!

–          Find new recipes for fresh fruits & veggies: We did great with our morels from the farmer’s market, but so far have been getting pretty basic salad fair in the CSA bag. Things should liven up a bit over the next few weeks.

–          Finish planting the garden: All in and thinned out Saturday. Things are going great!

–          Check tornado supplies: Done and tweaked after our little event on Mother’s Day.

image

My goals for June are largely targeted at the fact that my training plan for the Des Moines half marathon will start June 30th with 19-21 miles in the first week. I’d better get warmed up for that! I’m doing my training for the Des Moines half marathon in conjunction with the Another Mother Runner Thirteen Point Fun virtual half marathon, so I’ll be following their training plan and they very nicely sent out an email a few weeks explaining where each training plan started so you could get your baseline ready. Thus, my goals for June are simple:

–          Run 50 miles for the month, with a 5-6 mile long run each week, two 3 mile runs and speed work each week.

–          Get back into regular strength work. I’m joining Lauren’s squat challenge for the month and will also be working in some planking every day.

–          Run a 5K this month in sub-33 minute (ie faster than my typical 11:00 minute mile pace).

–          Get back down out of this 170 pound “red zone”. At the beginning of July, I’ll be hitting my one year anniversary of entering maintenance. I have no expectation to be back at my goal weight by that point (164) but I do want to be back in the 160s.

Here’s hoping the weather cooperates and I can get in lots of gorgeous sunny, non-humid runs this month! What are your goals for the month?

14 responses to “June Goals

  1. Great goals, so positive and healthy. I know you’ll do great!

  2. Great goals! Super excited that your next half marathon training starts in just a few weeks. I can’t wait to follow along! :0)

    • I’m a little intimidated by it – it’s going to be more intense than last time! I’m looking forward to the challenge though!

      On Mon, Jun 2, 2014 at 10:10 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. Kristin says:

    Nice, nice job on your goals!! I KNOW you will achieve them all!! XOXO!!

  4. leannenalani says:

    Your goals are looking good. It will be exciting for you when July rolls around for your 1-year maintenance anniversary! I’m curious about what kind of post you will do. 🙂

  5. […] and unexpectedly short run to get Oklahoma crossed off!). I’m also making good progress in my June goal of running 50 miles in the month, with over 12 miles done in week one. […]

  6. […] I’m ready for the workouts that are coming soon is going well. I’m on track to hit my June goal of 50 miles, which is a good […]

  7. […] we saw how wet the ground and paths at the park were, I immediately tossed my time goal out the window. Things were very soggy, with water covering the entire path at some point and lots […]

Leave a Reply

