A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: A new PR is a good start to the week!

on June 1, 2014

This has been a good week for workouts for the most part. I was a lot more sore than I expected after my 5 mile race on Monday – I blame the hills – but by Friday I was feeling back to my normal self. O and I are traveling next week, so I’m thinking ahead to rearranging my schedule so I can sneak in a long-ish run before we leave town. 4 weeks until the next round of half marathon training starts!

Workouts

Monday A hilly 5 mile race at Boys Town with a final time of 55:11. I’m happy with that pace, given the humidity and the hills. That gives me hope that I will be able to get faster once I start the half marathon training program. I was a little concerned I’d be starting back at 12+ minute miles, like I did with the last half marathon plan but I’m glad I haven’t lost that much ground. Someone chatting with my husband at the 5 mile race was a guy who was new to running and the 5 mile race was the longest he’d run. My husband told him I’d just started running a little over a year ago and had done my first half marathon in February. The guy was very impressed and asked my husband how fast I’d finished the 5 mile race and Darrell told him I was still out there, which confused the guy immensely. I don’t have to be fast to run long! 🙂

Tuesday 35 minute walk on campus at lunch – It always feels good to walk on a day when my legs are tight from the previous day’s run!

Wednesday Rest day

Thursday 3 mile run in the morning, with the last 2 miles faster than the first (yay!) and a 20 minute walk at lunch. I was starving all morning after that run! That hasn’t happened in a long time. Maybe I was still a little depleted from my hilly Monday?

Friday Speed work at the gym on the treadmill – I just needed not to think about pacing or hearing the watch or anything else, so I hit the treadmill for the first time in weeks! I have to say I was excited to realize my “fast” pace for intervals has gotten faster – I had to set it at 8 mph to feel like I was going “fast”.  I also got a walk in later in the evening, which I think helped me feel less sore on Saturday.

I was way too excited to see my favorite treadmill free.

I was way too excited to see my favorite treadmill free.

Saturday Lots of work in the garden, plus a walk with Oliver around the neighborhood to check out a couple of garage sales and buy treats at the bake sale one family was having to fundraise for an adoption. Let me say that pushing a 35 pound toddler up the hills of my neighborhood was tough! I have a huge new respect for people who run with strollers.

imageSunday 3 miles on deck for sometime today, but slow and easy since I’ll be doing 5-ish miles tomorrow too.

Despite my running slowly ramping back up to its previous levels and actually sticking with my “no fruit as a nighttime snack” plan for the last two weeks, I’ve spent the last week hovering just above the 170 weight mark. While that is definitely the “red line” in my mind as far as maintaining my weight is concerned, I’m surprised by how not-freaked-out I am by it all. Don’t get me wrong – I’m not happy about it and I’m noticing that those pounds are making my already squishy belly a little squishier – but I know I’m doing the right things to be healthy and eventually the scale will catch up to that. I just have to be patient and know that I only control the inputs, not the outputs here.  My inputs are good and the changes I’ve made, while prompted by the creeping scale, are things that are good for me and liveable: Run more and Don’t eat obscene amounts of anything at night, even if it is something “healthy” like fruit. This too shall pass. Remind me of this if I end up having to pay at Weight Watchers next month and flip out a little (need to be at or below 169 to be free as a LifeTime Member)

Have a good week everyone!

9 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: A new PR is a good start to the week!

  1. mybodymytime says:

    Great post keep it going

  2. Kristin says:

    Wow, awesome workouts! You are working so hard and will end up exactly where you want to be!!!

  3. Way to go this week! I have heard that running with a stroller is very tough so great job!

  4. leannenalani says:

    Good point, I like that control the inputs thing. You have a great mindset!

Leave a Reply

