A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Race recap: Boys Town Memorial Day 5 Mile

on May 29, 2014

After the fun and excitement of Oliver’s first race Monday morning, I had my own run to get in! The nice thing about doing my run after his is that I had zero time to worry about running on a humid day, running all of those hills or running my first 5 mile race. I got him all through (and warmed myself up in the process) and before I knew it, it was time to hit the starting line for my own race!

Boys town starting off 2 5.26.14That distraction was nice for nerves, but no so much for getting set to run. I was setting up my Garmin’s virtual pacer as I was walking to the starting line and thus, it didn’t pick up the signal to start timing my run until I was about a quarter of a mile into the race! They had signs for approximate paces to guide people as to the appropriate point to line up, but people didn’t really stick with that given the number of walkers I weaved around at the beginning. It’s always nice to see so many people out and active, so I didn’t mind doing a little weaving for the first quarter mile or so.

image

Gorgeous green course

My focus was more on Oliver getting ready for this, so I didn’t actually set any goals for the race until I was walking to the starting line. The nice thing about it being my first 5 mile race is that it was an automatic PR, so I knew I had that set. šŸ™‚ On the way to the starting line, I decided that given the humidity (80+%) and what I knew to be a hilly course, I’d set my pace goal for 11:30 minute miles overall and have an easy run. Starting out, I remembered how much I like running races. The cheering family members on the sideline, running with others but not having to talk to people – a great way to get a long run in for the week!

My guys saw me several times on the course, which is a first for us!

My guys saw me several times on the course, which is a first for us!

I decided to run the first two miles just for the fun of it, without worrying about pace or walk breaks or anything like that. These turned out to be my fastest and favorite miles! I walked through the water station but otherwise ran all of these first two miles at about 10:15 pace, which is pretty speedy for me.

image

At mile 3, the sun came out and it started get hot and humid right about the time the course got hillier (about 4% grade according to MapMyRun). Thus, I adjusted my goals and decided to take advantage of the hills. The hills I ran (I allowed myself to walk if I wanted) were hills I’d run while keeping good form in mind. More importantly, I wanted to actually run down the hills. I have a habit of slowing down a bit coming down hills for some reason. It’s not like I’m going fast enough that I’m going to lose control and yet in some crazy part of my mind that’s what I think, so I hesitate! For miles 3 and 4, I was going to run down those hills without fear. It was sweaty but fun to see all of the families cheering people on. The course looped back and forth around a central point, so it was easy for family members to catch their runners several times along the course. I saw my guys three times on the course, which was great and definitely a rarity in my races! I also got high fives from other people’s children along the way, which was awesome. šŸ™‚

Boys Town Finish line 5.26.14

Finishing time 55:11, ahead of my 11:30 minute mile goal pace

For the last mile, my goal was to run the entire thing and keep it below an 11:00 minute mile pace to finish relatively strong. I’m happy to say I met that goal (well other than walking the water stop – I’m not coordinated enough to run through those) even though I felt sick thanks to the humidity. I even picked up the pace for the last 100 yards or so! I felt a little like throwing up as soon as I got across the finish line and felt a little less wimpy about that when my husband told me he saw several people throw up when they crossed the finish line. It was a lot more humid than most of us expected. All in all, it was a fun race and one we’ll definitely do again in the future! The course was pretty, the hills just challenging enough and I love a good family event!

10 responses to “Race recap: Boys Town Memorial Day 5 Mile

  1. Awesome race despite the heat and humidity! Way to go!

  2. Kristin says:

    Amazing job!!! You did a great job!!! Awesome!!! Way to go!!

  3. Great job Jess!! Running in the heat and humidity is rough – way to push through! Oh, and I am so with you on walking through water stops. I am not coordinated enough to drink and run at the same time either lol!

    • It was cute because there were a lot of kid volunteers from Boys Town manning the water stops, which meant there were wildly variable amounts of water in each cup! You might have just an ounce or you might have a completely full cup. That definitely added to the potential for messes!

      On Thu, May 29, 2014 at 10:50 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  4. […] A hilly 5 mile race at Boys Town with a final time of 55:11. Iā€™m happy with that pace, given the humidity and the hills. That […]

  5. […] Run the Boys Town 5 mile Memorial Day run: Done and anxiously awaiting photos online to see O cross the finish […]

  6. […] goes, the Peak 2 Peak 10 mile race (loved it last year!) and the Boys Town 5 mile race (loved it last year and already registered O & I again for this year). Add to that the 5K I’ve already run, […]

  7. […] PS: Prior Boys Town race reports here and here […]

Leave a Reply

