A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Easing the miles back up!

on May 25, 2014

With the weeks steadily counting down until I start my next half marathon training cycle on June 30th, this week I set some concrete running goals for the first time in a while! I’ve enjoyed the last couple of months of running for the fun of it, but I’m looking forward to getting back to work too. I’m not sure what that says about me!

My goals for the week were to get in at least 3 good weekday runs, with either three 3 mile runs or two 3 milers and some speed work. For the month of June, my plan is two good runs during the week (either 3 mile+ and a speed workout or two 3+ milers)  plus a long run on the weekend of 5-6 miles. I didn’t plan a long run this weekend because I have the 5 mile race tomorrow. I’m happy to say I met my goal for the week! It was exciting to check the boxes off in my running log again!

Workouts for the week

Monday: 30 minutes walking in my bedroom while my husband was putting O to bed. Sometimes the Leslie Sansone-type walk in place workout is good enough. 🙂

Tuesday: Speed work intervals for the first time in a long time!

Wednesday: Rest day (unexpected, but I ended up fixing a flat tire after work!)

Thursday: 3 miles on a rainy morning

Friday: A really easy 3 miles with lots of photos for the scavenger hunt (and this gorgeous robin’s egg, which didn’t check any box on the scavenger but I snapped anyway)

image

Saturday: Lots of walking at the zoo with a friend visiting for the weekend

Sunday: Today will be another day for a nice walk to keep things moving and easy before my very first 5 mile race tomorrow. I’m excited about O’s 400 meter race tomorrow too! Here’s hoping it isn’t rainy!

As of right now (before any miles I get on my walk today), I have 6 miles to go to meet the goal of 100 miles between April 1 and May 31, which I’ll definitely hit by the end of my race tomorrow! I’ve loved having a little challenge to keep me going this month. Thanks to Desiree over at Finding the Skinny Geek Within for getting me on board with that challenge early on! It definitely helped keep me moving this spring between training cycles.

I hope you are all having a great holiday weekend! Stay safe!

6 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Easing the miles back up!

  1. I can relate to the feeling of wanting to get back to training. I don’t train for a particular race, I train to get better/faster/stronger… just running without a training plan doesn’t work for me.

  2. Kristin says:

    Very fabulous workouts!!! I love how active you are!!!! Xoxo!!! Congrats on meeting your goals!!!

  3. Awesome job this week! I am jealous you can fix a flat tire… I have zero car fixing skills lol.

    That is great you are going to break that 100 mile mark for your challenge tomorrow!! Have a great race (and I hope O has a great time too)!

    • Don’t be jealous! I didn’t fix it myself. 🙂 I pumped enough air in to get to a tire shop and get a new tire there! I’ve attempted changing tires alone before but thankfully some stranger always stopped to help out so I’ve avoided doing it completely alone!

Leave a Reply

