A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A sick boy & a “make do” workout

on May 20, 2014

My little guy got sick about mid-day yesterday – fever and feeling punky. I left work early to get him and bring him home. He spent all afternoon stuck to me like velcro. It’s very cute to have your kid tell you he needs hugs, but less cute to have this sweaty feverish guy stuck to you for hours! He was feeling especially cuddly and giving lots of (germy) kisses. He is my favorite cuddle bug and I know he’ll feel better soon, but I hate when he feels so puny.

image

My husband took on bedtime duties, like usual, but with my little guy feeling so puny I didn’t feel right heading out for an evening workout like usual. I know this is just some little virus and he’ll be fine but the mama in me wanted to stay close. Thus, I “made do” with a little workout I could do in my own room down the hall. That meant doing a do-it-yourself Leslie Sansone-type workout while I was watching TV and keeping an ear out  for O down the hall.

WATP DVD

I did this DVD over and over when I first started working out (definitely recommend it for anyone getting starting with activity!) so I remember a lot of the movements. Tonight I spent 30 minutes marching in place, with some side to side steps, heel lift/hamstring curls and high knee steps. All in all, when I keep the pace fast it gives me a similar workout to a walk I’d get outside but lets me sneak it in while staying close to O. You make do when you need to, right? Hopefully my little guy is back to normal today!

How do you sneak in workouts when the situation makes your favorite workouts difficult? 

8 responses to “A sick boy & a “make do” workout

  1. My boy has been sick over the weekend too, and although I got most of my workouts early morning while the kids and husband still slept, I had to replace a morning run with an afternoon at my crowded gym, hated every minute of it.

    • I hate working at the gym when it is crowded. Really, now that the weather is nice, I hate being in the gym period but it’s especially bad when it gets busy. This morning, I got out early to run so I can focus on him this afternoon. My husband and I are splitting the “sick day” shift today so I could work this morning and him this afternoon. Juggling always gets interesting with kids and two working parents!

      On Tue, May 20, 2014 at 6:47 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Aww sorry about your sweet little one not feeling well, but great job getting something in!

    • He seems back to normal today but we’re keeping him just to keep an eye on him (and crossing our fingers that neither of us gets sick thanks to all those sweet germy kisses!).

      On Tue, May 20, 2014 at 7:17 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. Kristin says:

    Awwww, I hope your little guy feels better!!! 😦 Nice workout, too!! You’re dedicated!!

    • It wasn’t the most hard core workout but it was better than nothing. 🙂 He seems to be feeling better today but we kept him just to keep an eye on things.

      On Tue, May 20, 2014 at 7:44 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  4. Aww I hope O feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

