A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Got lost on my run this morning!

on May 18, 2014

Today I went out for a 5 mile run because a) it was a gorgeous day and b) I start my next round of half marathon training in about 6 weeks with a much more ambitious plan than I used before, so I probably need to get back into the habit of running longer and more often! It was a great run, with the pace turned off on my Garmin and no real plan for the run other than hitting at least 4 miles. I took a water bottle along in case I went longer than 4 miles and needed some hydration. I dropped the water bottle at a park I passed about a mile in, figuring I could pick it up again when I passed back by. That was a great idea, except for the part where I took a wrong turn in the neighborhood and couldn’t find the little park again! It ended up being only a couple of blocks of detour thankfully, and I was able to get high enough in the neighborhood to look down and find the park.

image

I would have just left it to drive by and pick up later but I knew my husband would make fun of me if we did that. He loves teasing me for how turned around I get directionally in the suburbs! It was a brand new water bottle so I didn’t want to just give it up for lost either. Thankfully, I was able to retrieve it and headed home feeling that sense of accomplishment that only comes with getting a nice workout in before breakfast!

image

My little partner even helped me stretch and foam roll when I got home. The route was hilly for today’s run (equivalent to 26 flights of stairs per my FitBit) so I know I’ll be tight tomorrow. Hopefully between the stretching and foam rolling and some yoga later, it won’t be too bad.

Workouts for the Week

Monday 20 minute walk at lunch – a chilly, misty walk on a local college campus where I was doing an all day training session. It was nice to hear the bell tower chiming the whole time I was out! That made up a bit for the miserable weather.

Tuesday 20 minute walk at lunch; 25 minute run in the evening

Wednesday 2 miles walking in the neighborhood in the evening – I really love these spring evening walks!

Thursday / Friday No workouts thanks to a couple of evening work commitments, although I think the heels I had to wear Friday night count as a workout.

Speaking of Friday night, I had to go to a graduation reception (where one of my students got an award – yay! and I got an award for teaching – nice surprise!). A colleague introduced me to his wife as “This is Jessica. She runs marathons.” Aside from the need to correct that I have run a HALF marathon – a distinction that I know mattered more to me as a runner than it would to any non-runner, I was pleasantly surprised to realize that this has happened to me several times lately. I kind of like that running has become part of my public persona. šŸ™‚

Saturday 2 miles walking in the neighborhood in the evening. One of my favorite sights was seeing these gorgeous geese come cruising in right over my head to land in the pond!

image

Sunday Five miles running outside today, with hopefully some yoga later tonight.

As much as I’ve enjoyed all of these spring walks, it’s probably time to get back to running more often and a little longer since the training plan for my next half marathon starts at the beginning of July and starts with 5-6 mile runs, not 3 mile runs like my last training plan. Thankfully, the weather is much better and the light is lasting longer in the day so it should be easier to get these runs in.

I’m up to 84 miles in the 100 mile challenge – only 16 miles to go between now and May 31! This little challenge has been great for keeping me moving over the last 6 weeks.

I hope you guys have all had a great weekend!

2 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Got lost on my run this morning!

  1. Awesome job this week, and I am glad you got your water bottle back! :0)

    I love when people automatically connect you to running. It really is an awesome feeling (also, I totally agree about differentiating between a half and full – I do that too lol)!

    • It doesn’t matter to non-runners, but runners definitely know there’s a world of difference between a half and a full!

      On Mon, May 19, 2014 at 9:24 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

