A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: Foods I’ve Learned to Love

on May 14, 2014

As I sit here this morning eating my big bowl of fruit with breakfast, I have a confession to make: I never liked blueberries. My husband could never understand how someone could dislike blueberries but I didn’t appreciate that blueberry mix of earthy and sweet back before I overhauled my eating. I ate fruit but I preferred more intensely sweet fruits.

image

Now I appreciate that complicated blueberry flavor and they are in regular rotation in our house. That got me thinking about other foods I’ve learned to love since I started eating healthier:

– One of my first discoveries was a love of butternut squash. Thanks to veggies being free on the Weight Watchers program, I tried out lots of fruits and veggies early on so I could still eat lots of food while still keeping within my daily points. I love butternut squash roasted like potatoes as a snack, side dish or salad topping. I also use the pureed butternut squash to make soups and filling for quesadillas or enchiladas (with beans and kale/spinach).

– Speaking of kale and spinach, they are both a regular part of our grocery list now and weren’t something we really ate before. I would occasionally eat spinach mixed into something, but only because I knew it was good for me (just like blueberries). Now, we toss these greens into everything. I love the bulk and appreciate the balance that the slight bitterness of greens brings a dish overall.

– Beyond kale and spinach, Brussels sprouts were the epitome of icky vegetables for me before and now I love them! I confess that I first learned to like Brussels sprouts by braising then with cream and bacon – even a shoe would be tasty cooked that way, right? Now I like the sauteed with tomatoes or roasted in the oven to get brown, caremel-ish and toasty.

– Two other stereotypic “diet” foods that I turned my nose up at before and now enjoy are rice cakes and cottage cheese. I know – ugh, right? I will say that I still don’t like most rice cakes but there’s a particular kind at my local HyVee (Kim’s Deli Pop) that is made of toasted multigrains, which gives them a lot more flavor and they’re pretty crispy/crunchy so you avoid that styrofoam taste. I top them with PB2 for a snack! I’ve also embraced cottage cheese in the last couple of months. I’m not sure why my brain suddenly started interpreting cottage cheese as “yum” instead of “ick” like before but now I use it as a salad topping or mix in for eggs.

My taste preferences have changed a lot over the last two years. The more I incorporated healthy whole foods into my diet, the more I craved those things and truly enjoyed them rather than eating them just because they were good for me. I’ve learned to appreciate a lot more subtle flavors and flavor combinations. For me, my taste palate has continued to change throughout this process so keep an open mind about foods you’ve tried early on in changing your diet or pre-weight loss. Things you didn’t like earlier in the process may be worth revisiting later to see if you enjoy them more. Food should always be fun and tasty if you’re going to stick to a healthy lifestyle and trying new things let’s you find things that are tasty for you and keep you from getting bored with what you’re eating. There are so many different healthy foods out there and you’re sure to find something you really enjoy if you keep an open mind and keep trying new things!

What are your favorite healthy food discoveries? 

14 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: Foods I’ve Learned to Love

  1. nancykerins says:

    I do a farm share coop in the summer and it has helped me to try a lot of new things.

    Kale and brussells sprouts are definitely in heavy rotation in my house.

    I used to not like blueberries either. Now I love them, but I’m really picky and only really want the farm fresh ones.

    Turnips were my big farm share discovery last year.

    There are two foods thought that I really want to love and no matter how much I try them, I can’t seem to acquire the taste: tomato and avocado.

    • Our farm share starts this week and I’m excited to see what we get! Last year, we discovered that kohlrabi was pretty good but we never figured out a way to use and like radishes. At least we gave it a good try!

      On Wed, May 14, 2014 at 8:08 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Kristin says:

    Nice discoveries!! Hehe, I agree, some of the foods you listed, I used to not like either, but my taste preferences have also changed (over the years).
    I used to dislike black olives (or any olives for that matter), but now, I love them and they’re very good for you!! I eat them on pizzas, in salads, and especially in this yummy pasta salad I make!! Hmmm…I also really like spinach now!! I eat it in lots of meals!!
    XOXO! Have a beautiful day!

  3. Great new food discoveries! And you are so right about craving healthier foods when you incorporate them into your diet more. I have found that I love green beans, zucchini and zucchini squash! So much yumminess!

    I still cannot get a taste for cottage cheese though. I know it’s good for you and I’ve tried liking it but I just can’t lol. Any tips to help me get used to the taste?

    • I don’t know why I suddenly decided it was okay on salad – I think it was just a change in my taste buds more than anything exciting to do with it. I do like to mix cottage cheese into frittatas to up the protein content!

      On Wed, May 14, 2014 at 9:23 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  4. leannenalani says:

    My taste preferences have changed a bit over time, too. It’s liberating to be able to discover ways to like foods you used to hate. My confession: I have never tried Brussels sprouts ever in my life. It has never been served on any family occasions and I’ve just never seen it served anywhere in general!

    • My family was never big on brussel sprouts, but my husband likes them so I had to figure out what to do with them once I got married. The joys of married life. 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  5. Same happened to me, a lot of healthy foods that I didn’t like before, I like (or at least don’t mind eating them) now. I think it’s a matter of priorities, health over taste.
    A vegetable that I recently started eating because it’s so healthy is Kohlrabi, I still don’t think it tastes too good, but it’s worth eating it.

  6. I admit, I love blueberries (in muffins, in smoothies, in yogurt), but they are kind of strange just on their own. Plain blueberries are growing on me, but it is a weird sensation. I love raw spinach leaves, but less so when they are cooked. I’ve been meaning to try kale (esp. kale chips, which I’ve heard are delicious) and will have to do that soon. I’ll take your word on the brussel sprouts, ha! 🙂 The way you describe butternut squash makes me think I might actually like it! I’ve never been one for too many veggies (fruit, yes, veggies, not as much), but I feel like I need to expand my horizons and try them prepared different ways to try to excite my tastebuds and warm them up to the veggies. How’s the CSA so far this spring?

Leave a Reply

