A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Why I went for a Mother’s Day run . . .

on May 13, 2014

I had a wonderful Mother’s Day. I got to have breakfast in bed with my guys and spent the morning snuggling in bed reading a book and listening to the rain while they watched superheroes on TV. We went out for a lovely brunch at a new restaurant (better food than our usual brunch buffet, but also a lot pricier!) and then got to go browse at Sur la Table, one of my favorite stores. We got a great new basket for grilling veggies – it is awesome!

image

I’d asked for new pajamas and to have a day with zero cooking and my lovely husband made sure I got all of those things. I played games with O while Darrell prepped dinner and then, despite all that he’d already done to give me a great Mother’s Day I asked for one more thing. I asked that he take over O duty again for a while so I could go out for a run.

I confess, I felt more than a little bit selfish. Darrell had already done so much for me to give me a great day (including a hour alone to shop for new clothes!) and here I was asking for more time.

I’m proud of myself for asking for that time anyway. So often we put ourselves last on our to-do lists, behind the laundry and dishes and shopping and childcare and the thousand other little things we need to do. Yes, Mother’s Day is a day I am acutely aware of how blessed I am to be this little soul’s mother. This year, for the first time, it was also a day in which I gave myself for credit for actually doing a decent job at this whole mom-wife-work-Jessica balance thing.  I give running a lot of credit for building my self-confidence enough to finally reward myself for the work I do, even if it is just mental kudos.

Am I a perfect mom-wife-work-Jessica? Of course not. 🙂 I’m still very impatient and despite my brief spurt of self-approval this weekend, I’m generally still too hard on myself.  Running helps take me out of that self-critical place because it has taught me some valuable things:

– If I keep putting one foot in front of the other, I can cover a lot of ground in those single steps.

– When it comes to things that are good for me, I really only regret the things I DON’T do. I’ve rarely regretted a run or a  career development class or a healthy meal or time spent playing with O.

– Taking the time to run is the best cure I have for my natural impatience. I’d love to say this is a natural byproduct of exercise but it’s usually more  a guilt thing. 🙂 I took the time to run therefore I have to be patient with “x” crazy toddler thing. Whatever it takes, right?

– I am so much stronger than I think I am. When I think back to what my running was like a year ago, or two years ago when I couldn’t imagine being a runner at all, I am amazed at what I have accomplished. If I am strong enough to do this, imagine what else I can do if I try.

Thus, I went out to run. It was a humid run as a storm rolled in and so it wasn’t a particularly fast run, but it was mine and it felt good. I absorbed the bright green of the spring trees and grass, the dark and rolling clouds and gusts of hot, stormy wind blowing in.

imageimageimage

I got back to my house and saw this wonderful man up on my deck cooking me dinner:

image

And I was so grateful for my life, my husband, my son, my strong legs and my growing sense of self that is going to help me continue to grow as a mom-wife-worker-Jessica.

11 responses to “Why I went for a Mother’s Day run . . .

  1. Kristin says:

    Awww, Happy Mother’s Day to ya and I’m glad you had a swell time!! You’re amazing!!

  2. Those are all very valuable and important lessons.
    It’s also hard for me sometimes to take time for myself, to do something I want to do (go running, meet a friend) as opposed to something I have to do (take care of my children, go to work).
    Glad you had such a wonderful day!

  3. Aww what a wonderful day! Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. Happy (belated) Mother’s Day Jess!! I am so glad you had a wonderful day and some time for yourself :0)

    I am with you about running helping me with patience. I find I get stressed SO much easier when I can’t run.

  5. I am sitting here reading your post and nodding my head as I go; only regretting the things I don’t do, keep putting one foot in front of the other, being stronger than I think I am, so true! I’m so glad you got to go for a run on Sunday; you deserve it and I think you are doing an amazing job of balancing motherhood, being a wife, and working full-time. It is not easy by any means, but one foot in front of the other… 🙂

    • That’s always the key, right? One foot in front of the other. You have Napa to keep you motivated in those steps. What gorgeous motivation to have! We went to Sonoma on our honeymoon – it such a gorgeous part of the country!

      On Tue, May 13, 2014 at 11:02 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  6. […] but not much else and try for a 5-6 mile run on Mother’s Day to shake things out (because Mother’s Day is on my list of “must run” days now apparently). The week before the Papillion half […]

  7. […] O knows that part of what I want to do on “my” day is run. (Now that I think about it, last year I headed out in a storm too.) It felt like a real celebration of my mother-runner status this week […]

Leave a Reply

