A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Healthy lifestyle lessons from a toddler

on May 10, 2014

I’m always aware that I’m a mom, in that you can’t really forget something like that, but Mother’s Day weekend always makes me reflect on what that all really means. I’ve learned so much from Oliver and am so grateful to be his mom. Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the things I could learn about living a truly healthy lifestyle from my 2 year old. One night this week, I had to bribe O with fruit to get him to finish his pizza!

Fruit is as sweet and yummy as most desserts (or “treats” in Oliver-speak) and far healthier. Oliver’s opinion in this matter makes it hard to get him through the produce section some days (and we frequently buy a container of the pre-washed fruit to snack on rolling through the grocery store) but I’d have to argue about how many oranges we buy than deal with melt downs over the candy in the checkout aisle!

– When you ask O if he likes something, he always almost answers “yes that’s my favorite!”. I love that he’s embracing such joy in the things he’s eating. Food really is something we should take joy in. I try to remind myself of that these days – food is not the enemy, no matter how much I feel like it might be some days.

When you find something you enjoy, exercise is more fun than work. Running with O this week was so much fun! Seeing the joy on his face was inspiring. If we could all find a kind of physical activity that made us smile and keep going back for more even when we were red faced and panting, it’d be easier to stay active.

image

When you’re full, you should stop eating. Kids know that intuitively and we train them out of that habit. I confess, I’m horrible about this. I try to make O keep eating after he says he’s done and I know that’s Β part of how we unlearn those natural self-regulating instincts. Drawing the line between encouraging him to try new things and forcing him to eat when he isn’t hungry is hard, but I need to remind myself often that he’s probably closer to a healthier way of regulating his food intake than I am.

Sleep is a beautiful thing and sleep goes better when you have a regular pattern of bedtime routines, bedtimes and waking in the morning. I miss naps and confess that I envy O’s nap times!

image

My only real request for Mother’s Day is that I not cook for the day and my husband has plans to make cedar plank grilled salmon for my dinner. We’re also going to try breakfast in bed, which may be difficult as I’m typically the first person out of bed in our house, but we’ll try. Β πŸ™‚ I hope you all have a lovely weekend!

My other favorite thing I've learned from O: Yellow flowers make any day better. :)

My other favorite thing I’ve learned from O: Yellow flowers make any day better. πŸ™‚

9 responses to “Healthy lifestyle lessons from a toddler

  1. playfulpups says:

    He is so sweet- and you, well actually he ) is so right on all points!! Happy Mothers Day!

  2. Kristin says:

    All wonderful lessons indeed!!! I love them all!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Love this Jess! Have a Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. Awww I love this post!! It’s awesome how much we can learn from kids! I especially love how you had to bribe him to eat his pizza with fruit… so funny!

Leave a Reply

