A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: In the mood to branch out a little

on May 9, 2014

Today, I’m loving some things that are a little different from my usual “Friday Favorites” and one of the perks of being in charge of my own little bloggy world is that I get to write about whatever I want, right? 🙂 Really, it’s been a busy week and I’m woefully behind on blog reading!

Favorite new-to-me podcast: I have just discovered the NPR Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me podcast and wow do I love it! So funny and it moves really quickly, which is what I like on a run. I’ll be catching up on lots of back episodes during my runs! They will also be helpful when I drive down to Oklahoma next month to visit my parents with O. 7-8 hours in the car will require some entertainment (and something to drown out the sounds of Elmo or Disney Junior from the backseat).

Favorite toddler quote of the week: I was asking O some questions on the ride to school yesterday, practicing his “demographic” knowledge. I realized recently he’s old enough now to know his first and last names, so we’ve been working on that. After asking his name and how old he was, I asked where we lived. His little voice piped up “HyVee,” which would be our favorite local grocery store. It is true that we’re there several times a week and that a large chunk of the staff knows O there (his babysitter even works there!), so I could see where he gets confused! Our credit card probably thinks we live there too, as often as I stop in to pick “just 1-2 things” up on the way home from work.

image

Favorite sing a long blog post of the week: If you haven’t seen it, be sure to check out Lauren’s acoustic Let It Go! (www.laurensglassslipper.com)I’m awe of anyone with natural musical ability because I have ZERO. This is so cool and clearly she had a great time with her brother putting this together!

Favorite TV show I’m marathoning: I have a bad habit of deciding I like TV shows right as they get cancelled. In this case, it’s Warehouse 13 from the SyFy channel. I’ve been watching it at night this week on Amazon Prime and really enjoy it. It hits my science fiction and history geek sensibilities quite nicely. 🙂 My husband has had to work a couple of nights this week, so it’s been nice to have something to watch by myself this week.

I hope you all have a great weekend!

4 responses to “Friday Favorites: In the mood to branch out a little

  1. Kristin says:

    Haha, I love the SyFy channel!! It’s fabulous!! I love all of your Friday favorites! Have a great weekend! XOXO!

  2. I am a SyFy geek too. I love Face Off, and most of their B-rated monster movies lol!

    That quote from O is hilarious!

    Thanks for the shout out – have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

