A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: Rock wall & more NSVs!!

on May 7, 2014

One of the things that makes weight maintenance easier for me is keeping track of the little non-scale victories along the way. It can be hard to stay motivated and stick to the healthy choices that helped me lose weight without the positive feedback that comes from seeing the numbers on the scale go down (and those cute little Weight Watchers 5 pound stars – even O likes those!). I try to consciously take note of the things that are going well each week when I reflect back on my food and activity for the week. Some weeks, I’ll be honest – it’s hard to find the successes. Those weeks are actually the times I need this mental exercise the most.

This week, it’s going to be easy to point out my NSVs! I tackled the rock wall last night!! Climbing the rock wall at the gym is one of the things on my “former fat girl bucket list” – things I was too embarrassed to try when I was overweight. I’ve been trying to cross this one off of my list for a couple of months, but the gym was thwarting me. I walked into the gym with the plan to hit the treadmill before I picked O up from school. I noticed as I passed that the rock wall was open and decided to ditch my original running plan and hit the rock wall instead. I’m so glad I did! I was a little nervous to tell the guy that it was my first time. I got into the harness (and confess to have that old momentary fear that I wasn’t going to fit into the harness) and after he showed me how to clip into the belay system, he left me to it. It was tough! I suspect I’m going to be sore in a lot of unusual places tomorrow. It was a full body work out for sure and my hands and forearms in particular got tired. I enjoyed the mental challenge of the whole thing and confess I never managed to get all the way up the wall. I only got half way up and couldn’t find a good handhold to get the rest of the way up. It wasn’t for lack of trying! I will definitely be trying this again, but regardless I’m proud of myself for tackling it at least once!

image

I wish I had a picture of me on the wall, but I was alone. I’ll bring my husband back here for date night one night and we’ll get a pic then!

I may have had the momentary thought I wouldn’t fit in the harness when I was at the rock wall, but I can honestly say I didn’t give a single thought to my body and its size and what it looked like when I was running with Oliver Monday night. Not once did I worry about the saggy skin on  my thighs that anyone could see thanks to my running shorts or my belly flap. I was consumed in the joy of Oliver running his little heart out and I’m so glad my stupid body image issues didn’t intrude into that lovely moment like they would have in the past. That kind of progress is a huge NSV for me. 🙂

It’s not like I avoid thinking about my body at all though. I couldn’t help but notice that apparently no one  has told my clothes that my “happy weight” when I’m not on a half marathon training plan is 4-5 pounds above where it was before. My jeans and this dress definitely fit looser than they did last month. I’m going shopping alone as part of my Mother’s Day gift and it’s nice that the shopping will be for new work pants because I need more options in my current size, not a bigger size.

image

What are you victories and successes this week? Success looks like different things to all of us at different points in our lives – what does it look like for you today?

15 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: Rock wall & more NSVs!!

  1. nancykerins says:

    Awesome! It’s always great to remind yourself and keep your head in the game.

    • I always loved when Judy on the 100 lbs to lose message board would ask for NSVs at the end of the day. It was such a great reminder to think about things beyond the scale!

  2. I still celebrate those non-scale victories – even after many years of maintaining my 150 pound weight loss! Congratulations to you!

  3. Kristin says:

    Great job on the climb!! That’s wonderful to hear! I love it!! XOXO! You look beautiful, too!
    I guess I’d say, my victory this week was my 8 mile hill run today! It was very challenging, but I did it and felt very good about it afterwards! XOXO! 🙂

  4. I have been waiting for this post…I know tackling that rock wall has been on your list for a long time! I can’t tell you how excited I am for you because I know how huge this is! Congrats Jess! :0)

  5. leannenalani says:

    Great NSV’s! I just taught my husband what an NSV was the other day so they can become a regular part of conversation. Congratulations on the rock wall, too. I’ve never tried that before but it sure looks cool.

  6. Fantastic NSV’s! So proud of you for conquering the rock wall! And I love that dress!! My nsv’s this week include not weighing myself every day (I meant to go a whole week without doing it, but I seem to be on an every other day routine, baby steps) and I’m doing a much better job about not snacking late at night. 🙂

    • Every other day is progress! It’s so hard not to step on that thing every day. I’m like you, in that I worry what it’s showing our kids. O loves to weigh himself but I’m hoping right now it is just fascination with the technology of the whole thing since he doesn’t really understand what the numbers mean. Still, it’s something to keep in mind.

      On Thu, May 8, 2014 at 12:29 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

