A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Random musings in the airport . . .

on April 28, 2014

I got to O’Hare a couple of hours early yesterday thanks to quick and easy traffic through Chicago, which meant I had to time to get in a nice walk through the terminals. Airports are a great place to get some extra steps in, especially O’Hare. Not only is O’Hare huge, it has lots of fun stuff to look at like a mock model dinosaur skeleton and lots of interesting art exhibits. I particularly enjoy the tunnel with the neon lights timed to music as  you head over to concourse C.

imageI was on my way over to Concourse C not just for the walk, but also to  hit up SaladWorks for lunch. Whenever I’m in an airport for lunch, I always Google “healthy eating in O’Hare” or whatever airport I happen to be in. The first hit is almost always this article from Cooking Light several years ago. In addition to SaladWorks, I’ve also tried and liked both options in Detroit (sushi & mediterranean) from the Cooking Light list. SaladWorks has several pre-set salad combos or you can build your own. I topped my mixed salad greens with chick peas, roasted red peppers, cucumber, broccoli and fresh green beans. It was very fresh and delicious and apparently looked good enough that a random woman stopped as she passed me eating it on the bench to ask where it came from. When I told her where I’d gotten it, we discussed how far out of the main path it was over in C (true) but how that was okay because you got some extra walking in (also true). It’s funny the airport conversations you have with people.

imageI got a Coke Zero with my salad not because I truly prefer it over Diet Coke – they’re sort of interchangeable for me. However, my husband loves Coke Zero so I order it whenever I can to try to increase “demand” for it to help it show up more places for him. Weird little inconsequential things we do for love, right?

image I ate my lunch in a lovely little atrium with lots of sunshine and glasswork to look at. I’ve spent lots of hours in O’Hare thanks to delays over the years and I’d say it is my favorite place to be delayed.

imageI used to use any delay in the airport as an excuse to indulge in particularly rich foods (like I really needed any indulgence in my life?). Somehow spending a few hours in the airport meant I was allowed to have 3 doughnuts instead of two and full octane Dr Pepper instead of Diet. Today walking through the airport I noticed there are lots of healthy options too. Being stuck in the airport isn’t an excuse for going completely off track (and really, what is there in the airport that’s worth it?) as much I tried to make it one in the past. If you keep your eyes open, there are lots of healthy choices out there. There’s even a yoga space in O’Hare!

While I was wandering I went up to visit the garden in the airport (between terminals 2 and 3) and found a ton of flight crew hanging out up there! It makes sense as it is a quiet space with cushy chairs and not a lot of people come wandering through, other than the rare person like me who likes to visit the veggies.

imageAll in all, not a bad couple of hours in the airport but it was nice to get home and get lots of cuddles from my guys. My tulips and hyacinths are in full bloom, which made me feel particularly welcome as I pulled up to the house, but nowhere near as welcome as that joyful “Mommy!” I got when I came inside. 🙂

 

10 responses to “Random musings in the airport . . .

  1. LOL to increasing demand for Coke Zero! I used to love Zero when I was still drinking diet soda.
    Nothing beats a big hug from the kids!

  2. Kristin says:

    Awww, looks like you had a great time and had some yummy, healthy food while in the airport!! I’m glad you’re home safe!! XOXO!!

  3. Aww what a great post! Glad you found some healthy options while being stuck in the airport and glad you had a safe trip back home again!

  4. I’ve always found it surprisingly easy to pass time at the airport, especially during football season. Sports bars easily make the time go by fast even though it may not be as good an option as walking through the airport to help burn those calories :0) I think it is awesome how you look for and find all those extra things to do to be healthy! And I think it’s adorable that you buy coke zero for your hubby!

    • I wasn’t really conscious of it until they handed me a Diet Coke and I asked for the Coke Zero instead and then walked away wondering why I’d done that since most days I sort of prefer Diet Coke. 🙂

      On Mon, Apr 28, 2014 at 1:00 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  5. I love the neon lights heading over to Concourse C! I tried explaining it to my husband for years and he finally got to see it in person when we went on our honeymoon almost 10 years ago. Hopefully it was as neat for him since I hyped it up so much! I love that the have a yoga space at O’Hare! It’s neat to see healthy and active options at the airports now. I’m glad you made it home safely; I’m sure your little guy (and big guy!) were glad to see you!

    • It’s definitely my favorite place in O’Hare. Years ago, I discovered it when I ended up spending 10 hours on Thanksgiving Day stuck in O’Hare. Now I make sure to head down to visit it every time I pass through!

      On Mon, Apr 28, 2014 at 10:51 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

