A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Weekend in Chicago

on April 25, 2014

I’m settling in to my hotel for my weekend in Chicago. It’s nice that the meeting doesn’t start until 1230, so I had time to unpack everything. Even for short trips, I unpack rather than live out the suitcase. My husband thinks I’m crazy, but he could happily live out of a suitcase for weeks I think. Also crazy:

image

While I was exploring the lovely bathroom (big tub and a separate shower), I found a scale. I can’t imagine weighing myself while traveling – that seems like a really good way to mess with your head! Different scale, different food, retaining fluid from flying – no thank you. I am not going to be using this particular amenity of my lovely hotel.

There were lots of great articles this week about the Boston Marathon, but my favorites are the story about Ryan Hall helping coordinate the other runners to help Meb to his victory. For a solo sport, runners can be amazing team players! I also enjoyed this article about Juli Windsor. I read the original article in Runners World a month or two ago, about the attempt that she and another man with dwarfism made to run the marathon last year, only to be derailed at the end. I’m so glad to hear that she was able to finish this year and astounded by how fast she is given how many extra steps she takes compared to the others! What an athlete and an inspiration!

With spring finally here, my brain is apparently set on getting faster because two of the blog posts I’d flagged this week were about speed work: 2 Cups N Run has some tips in this post about getting started with speed work (I particularly like the part being sure the easy is actually easy!) and Jen has a mix of serious and not so serious tips here as well. I loved the idea of flailing your arms and giggling like a kid. πŸ™‚ (and will seriously think about my posture in speed work)! Also check out the recent Another Mother Runner podcast (#105 – Demystifying the track) that talks through track etiquette and workouts in a way that truly made it seem less terrifying.

I’m off to the grocery store I scoped out before my trip (you know how I like to plan my access to healthy foods when I travel) before the work part of my trip starts. I’ll leave you with this lovely pic of my guy trying to get himself dressed while I was getting ready for work one morning this week:

image

I was impressed he got both legs correctly in the pants even if they were on backwards.

He was turning in circles like a puppy chasing his tail trying to get to the buttons and zipper to close his pants. πŸ™‚ Very cute, but you can see why I look forward to some uninterrupted girl time to primp and play. (I seriously miss my guys already)

Have a great Friday!!

9 responses to “Friday Favorites: Weekend in Chicago

  1. leannenalani says:

    A scale is a cool amenity at a hotel, but the problem is that the number will probably be different because all scales are so different. I guess it’s useful to get a ballpark, but like you said who wants to weigh themselves on vacation? :p

    • There was one on the cruise ship too. I can’t even imagine what would one would do with a number so unreliable as a scale on a big floating boat!

      On Fri, Apr 25, 2014 at 2:12 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Kristin says:

    Yay, I’m glad you’re settling in and have an absolutely wonderful weekend!!! XOXO!!! πŸ™‚

  3. I’m so glad you found my post useful, and I appreciate the link. I really swear by speed work, especially intervals, they have made me so much faster.
    Ohhh noooo to weighing myself while on a trip, just no way that’s happening. Even at home I weigh myself once a month (finally, because I used to weigh myself much often), that’s enough for me to keep track, without going crazy on the numbers.

  4. Interesting that your hotel had a scale – I’ve never seen that particular amenity in a hotel room before. Maybe a hotel gym, but nothing else lol.

    I always unpack when I stay in a hotel, too! It feels more organized, and just is easier!

  5. playfulpups says:

    Thanks for the shout out!! And, I must agree with the others- not sure about a scale in the bathroom…I would be curious though and that could be good or bad- lol-

    BUT- pay to use their gym? Must have been a really nice gym…:)

    • That was insane! And paying to use the gym when I was already paying almost $300 a night for the room was particularly unbelievable! That was a first for me.

      On Tue, May 6, 2014 at 7:21 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

