A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A little teary watching the Boston finish today . . .

on April 21, 2014

It’s a hugely busy Monday for me, but I timed my check of the Boston Athletic Association’s website exactly right to catch the finish of the Boston marathon just now. If you haven’t seen the finish, I won’t spoil it, but I will say that I found myself unexpectedly teary watching it. Knowing how hard the winner must have worked to do this and the reasons for it says so much about the running community and the strength of the running family.

Last April, I was still early in my running journey and I was just becoming aware of how important Boston was for runners. (Honestly, two years ago I don’t think I was even aware there was a Boston marathon.) I was starting to understand how truly connected the running community was. I’d always had the impression that running was a very solitary sport, something of individual accomplishment. That’s certainly true in lots of respects and I value a lot of that aspect of running: competing with myself and time to myself and my own thoughts.

The response to Boston and the sense of personal violation among the entire running community was amazing to me. Runners really see themselves as a family, no matter how elite you are or how slow and amateur you may think you are. As a family, runners came together to help those who were wounded in so many different ways and as this year’s event approached, they came together to show the world that they still run.

This week, I know that I am part of this running family. There is no entrance exam or application process. If you want in, runners will let you in and that’s a beautiful thing. Knowing that today’s Boston Marathon winner trained to win this race, and not only won but won with a new personal best because he knew the running family needed this win, brought me to tears a bit. Even more, knowing that there are thousands upon thousands of other runners who are going to hit the road or the trail or the treadmill today in solidarity for all of the running family on this day makes me so proud to be part of this community. I may not run as quickly or as confidently as those elites crossing the finish line today, but I run. We run for all of those who can’t and in gratitude for our bodies that allow us the privilege of movement.

image

It doesn’t matter how fast I run or how far I run. I run and that is more than enough. πŸ™‚

 

9 responses to “A little teary watching the Boston finish today . . .

  1. playfulpups says:

    Great post!

    Love this: “This week, I know that I am part of this running family. There is no entrance exam or application process. If you want in, runners will let you in and that’s a beautiful thing.”

  2. Beautifully said, Jess! :0) I definitely got a bit teary-eyed watching as well. I was able to see the last corral head off, and also see the elites cross the finish. Both were equally as emotional! I love seeing how truly strong and unified the running community is… it never ceases to amaze me!

    • It’s entertains me that I have no idea who won the NCAA basketball tournament or who is in the NBA playoffs right now (although at least I am aware that the playoffs have started), but I did know who the front runners for the Boston Marathon were. πŸ™‚ My, how things change πŸ™‚

      On Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 12:26 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. Kristin says:

    Awwww, LOVE this post so much and YES, as runners, we know the dedication it takes to pound the pavement day after day (no matter how long or short or fast). It’s our way to express ourselves and enjoy our bodies and have fun!!! Emotional day indeed!! XOXO!!! You’re just SO sweet!

  4. […] of miles away, I still felt affected and shaken, as I think many of us did. Last year, I was teary watching the finish and realizing again how amazing the running community […]

  5. […] Boston Marathon since I’d started running and therefore the first I was conscious of, was the day I first realized that I identified as a runner. It didn’t matter that I’d likely never run Boston with my not-so-speedy legs. Those […]

Leave a Reply

