A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: Weighing in when you really don’t want to

on April 16, 2014

Two weeks ago, I went back to Weight Watchers for the first meeting of the month and while I knew I would be within my approved Lifetime weight range (less than 169 pounds) I also knew that I would have a gain. I will be honest with you guys and admit it was hard to go back in that Saturday. A big part of me was saying “I know what I’m doing. I have a plan and I’ll get my weight back down and THEN I’ll go back.” I’m not the only one who has had those thoughts, I know. As much as I cringed when the receptionist said “Up 2.6 pounds,” I’m glad I made myself go weigh in that day and take ownership of that number. In a lot of ways, it felt like it was the first step I needed to move in the right direction again.

In a weight loss support group that I participate in on Facebook, someone posted last week that she didn’t want to post her weigh in because she’d gained and felt bad putting her “number” up against everyone else’s losses. I’m so glad she was brave enough to say that because it’s something a lot of us experience and the more we talk about these ups and downs, the more everyone will see just how normal they are!

A lot of people reach out to others, either via the web or in real life, to find support from other people who are also trying to lose weight. I’m amazed by people who can be accountable truly to themselves and themselves alone to lose weight because I know I couldn’t do it! The meetings I attended truly helped me along the way, in staying on track because I knew I had somewhere to check in, and I’ve gotten a lot of help from virtual support groups as well. In the last week when I’ve wanted to eat 3 lbs of grapes at night, I’ve been able to tell myself that I told you guys I wasn’t going to do that and used that to help me resist (most nights). 🙂 It’s amazing how a little accountability and support can help. It can also be incredibly tempting to hide from those same lovely people when you feel like you’ve failed.

image

So, you wake up, step on the scale and realize you’re going to have a gain documented with whatever accountability group you have (Weight Watchers, an online group, whatever floats your particular boat). Why should you check in any way?

– If you’re participating in some kind of support group, checking in allows them do the things they’re supposed to be doing for you! Supporting you when you need it and giving you accountability when you need it! Hopefully you’ve found yourself in a friendly and helpful group where both of those occur in a positive way for you. If not, keep looking around until you can find that place. They won’t know that you need support if you don’t show up and let them know.

– Part of that support, both from your group and from your own self talk should be the reminder that while the scale is an important piece of data in measuring your progress, it’s only ONE piece of data reflective of one small point in time. It says nothing about all of the changes you’ve made in better food choices or more activity or being kinder to yourself or kinder those around you. It says nothing about the cute new shirt you fit into or how much longer you were able to dance around your house with your toddler. A gain doesn’t mean you’ve failed. It just means that single piece of data isn’t swinging your way right now.

– Regular weigh ins have been consistently reported by those who are successful in long term weight loss, so while that number isn’t the only thing about you, it’s an important thing to track.

– If that gain is part of an actual problem, then owning that problem is the first step to fixing it. That’s why I’m glad I weighed in on Saturday. Yes, I’d already made a plan and told you guys about it but I’m grateful to the added layer of accountability in going to Weight Watchers and having that number recorded. Finding excuses to keep putting off the weigh in can lead to a slippery slope of losing so much of your health and fitness ground.

– I promise you there is someone else out there worried about the same thing and feeling like they’re the only one who had a gain or feels like they’ve had a bad week with their food choices. The more we speak up about our struggles and the imperfect trajectory of this process, the more people will recognize what a healthy lifestyle change really looks like as opposed to all of the “*Results not typical” garbage we’re bombarded with in the media.

– I also promise you that it will not hurt nearly as bad to step on the scale and claim that number as you think it will. (Well, unless you’re a klutz like me and somehow physically injure yourself) The more we put it off, the bigger and more catastrophic it seems and that just isn’t true. It’ll all be okay. Just take a deep breath, own it and choose one thing to do better. We just have to do a little more and eventually we’ll get there.

Have you ever wanted to hide from a weigh in when you knew it would be “bad”?

14 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: Weighing in when you really don’t want to

  1. Great post! A scale is nothing more than a number…it does not tell the whole story!

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Liebster Award! Check out my blog post today for details! :0)

  2. I’m like you, too. I have to have that outside motivation. I’m hoping that one day I can do it on my own, but for now, I’m happy to have the support of other people because I can’t do it on my own. Thanks for sharing this post!

  3. I see the benefit of the scale, but I’m so very very frustrated right now that I’m getting my hubby to hide it from me. I’m going to shift my focus back to food and exercise (I have the exercise part down, but need to work on the food). The scale just depresses me since it’s in the same range that it was back from August of last year.

    • I totally get that. I think making the choice to step away for a while is different than chickening out when you know it you aren’t going to like the number. Focusing on the healthy things you can do and not the number you can’t control, after the way things have been for the last few months, sounds like a really reasonable plan. Good luck keeping it hidden for a while!

  4. I agree that the sooner we take responsibility for the gain, the sooner we can start to lose it. Hiding it and trying to make it go away with no support, usually will result in more gain weight.
    Good for you for being brave and stepping up that scale! And I really mean this, 2.6 pounds is so little..

    • Exactly 🙂 I’m really more concerned with the upward trend than the number. A few pounds is definitely not going to hurt my health. I just need to be sure it stays at just a few pounds!

  5. leannenalani says:

    Ooooh good post. You know, this is one of the tools I don’t have – An accountability support group. Maybe if I weighed in once a week in a public place I wouldn’t have binge problems. Almost makes me want to go back to WW just to get that public WI once a week.

    • Of course I said all that and am missing my weigh in this past weekend due to Easter and next weekend due to travel for work. Thank goodness for online accountability, right? I am in awe of people who can do this alone. It is so easy to let things slide when no one else sees the number on the scale!

      On Sat, Apr 19, 2014 at 12:41 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  6. […] I’m also going to weigh in once a week. I’m a big believer in getting on the scale to hold yourself accountable and yet I haven’t been practicing what I preach lately. I […]

  7. […] on the scale and focus on how my clothes fit. That doesn’t mean I’m going to stop weighing in, because that’s been shown too many times to be a key to maintaining weight loss, but it does […]

Leave a Reply

