A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A Healthy, springy Easter basket!

on April 14, 2014

Last weekend, after our usual Sunday morning breakfast date, O and I went to Target to put together an Easter basket for my husband. We had a great time choosing things and of course, as soon as we got home, O told Darrell “We got you eggs Daddy! It’s a secret.” While the Easter basket is no longer a surprise, I do think my husband will like the things we chose for him and knowing my husband, he’s now a little panicky that he needs to get me something for Easter. 🙂 While we do stockings for each other every year, we don’t always do Easter baskets so this caught him off guard. Thus, this post is largely for him but for anyone else who needs little gifts to welcome spring, hopefully this will give you some ideas.

– I’m definitely feeling the itch to garden (and need to get my kale seeds planted ASAP!) so some new gardening gloves, those little terra cotta pots that come with seeds and soil or flower seed bombs would be fun.

image

– It wouldn’t be Easter without chocolate and if you choose really good, high quality chocolate, you don’t have to have as much. I got some of the cutest little Lindt chocolate carrots for O’s Easter basket (he only has two pieces of candy in his Easter basket – I’m not sure if that makes me a good or bad mommy). A small amount of special chocolate is far more worth the indulgence than one of those giant cheap chocolate bunnies!

These small sizes make perfect portion controlled treats. Only 1-2 points each and so good one really is enough (most days)

These small sizes make perfect portion controlled treats. Only 1-2 points each and so good one really is enough (most days)

– Spring means warmer weather and more skin showing, so new body cream or lotion is always nice, especially if it is in a nice floral scent to celebrate the flowers that are soon to arrive!

– I’m loving being able to run outside again finally and I know many of my fellow runners are feeling the same joy. A new running book would be great, like Train Like a Mother, which I reviewed this weekend, the newly released Runner’s World Big Book of Running for Beginners-which I’ve read great things about, Mile Markers or What I Talk About When I Talk About Running – the last two from my personal to-read list. 🙂 Pam over at WeRunDisney has a great post here about the running-specific Easter basket she put together for Christine. Some arm sleeves for this cool/edging into warm weather might be nice for the runner in your life too.

– Something about spring just says fresh and light to me and that somehow translates in my mind to a new water bottle. I recently got my first Camelbak Eddy water bottle and love it – everyone needs one! I’d also love to try one of those water bottles that has the fruit/flavor infuser insert.

What are you hoping the Easter bunny brings you this weekend? What was your favorite treat to find in your basket as a kid? My husband still waits all year for the Reeses peanut butter eggs and my sister was always a fan of Peeps, but I can’t think of anything that my “go to” treat.

10 responses to “A Healthy, springy Easter basket!

  1. I love what your idea about having a good quality chocolate so you only need a little bit to control portion size! One of my fave candies, though, are peppermint patties so it’s cheap and an indulgence lol!! I also really love starburst jellybeans. Other than that, a cute Disney-Easter stuffed animal would be nice!

  2. Kristin says:

    Wow, what great ideas!! I LOVE Target, too!! They have the cutest Easter stuff! Mmm, I LOVE the chocolate peanut butter cups from Trader Joe’s. They would fit perfectly in my basket!!

  3. These are great ideas! I love all of the springy things (especially since it is cold and windy here and I even saw a few stray snow flurries, ugh). My favorite Easter treats were always the Reese’s eggs or Cadbury eggs. When we went to the store Sunday, my oldest son got really excited when he saw the Peeps but not because he wanted to eat them, but because he remembered us microwaving one last year after Easter and he wanted to do it again. Such a fun experiment to see how big the Peep gets (although it’s good to catch it before it explodes marshmallow goodness all over the microwave). 🙂

  4. Great ideas! Hope your husband gets them all for you! 🙂

  5. […] to put together are the various holiday gift idea posts (like runners stockings, healthy stockings, Easter baskets). I get to do a little virtual shopping and as a bonus, since my husband reads the blog, those […]

Leave a Reply

