A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Book Review: Train Like a Mother

on April 12, 2014
It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of Sarah & Dimity over at Another Mother Runner. I’ve mentioned them on many “Friday Favorites” and love listening to their podcasts when I run. I run alone, but with them in my ears it feels like running with friends, you know? I even met Sarah at the Princess Half Marathon Expo back in February and got my copy of Train Like a Mother signed:
Signed TLAM

I read Run Like a Mother on the Kindle version, so I couldn’t get that signed sadly. I’d definitely recommend to any mother runner, especially if you’re just starting out. It covers a lot of practical ground that doesn’t show up in other books.

For Christmas, I got a copy of their second book, Train Like a Mother. This is a more nitty-gritty running book, with several specific training plans for various distances. I didn’t use their half marathon training plan for Princess because I was intimidated by any plan more specific than “Run X miles” a certain number of days of week. For my next half marathon in Des Moines, I’m going to take the plunge and tackle a more complicated training plan, the Train Like a Mother Finish It plan.

TLAM Cover

This book covers a huge range of training questions, from deciding if you’re really ready to train for a race, to multiple race distances, to strength training and nutrition to make you a healthier runner. There are also chapters dedicated to recovery and to injury, including the emotional toll injury takes and easing back into running after an injury. Scattered throughout the book, in addition to Sarah & Dimity’s our personal anecdotes and humor, are tips from other real like mother-runners.

image

The training plans look really interesting and I’m looking forward to testing one out in the fall. I’ll be sure to let you know how it’s going, don’t worry! What I like about the training plans are the variety of workouts prescribed. This is definitely not a “run X miles X times a week” plan and I’m looking forward to that. I got a little burnt out with half marathon training before, but this one should keep me on my toes. I won’t lie, it’s a little intimidating with 13-21 miles plus speed work in week one alone! (The big range is due to some workouts being a run or cross train option).

image

The workouts are designated so you know which one you could skip if you had to (and we’ve all had those weeks, right?) and which one is the one you absolutely must do. As a busy mom, I really appreciate the level of practical thought that went into this. The long runs go up to 13 miles and every week has at least one workout with some kind of speed/effort target involved. It’s definitely more intense, targeted training that I used for the Princess Half Marathon but I think now that I have one half marathon under my belt I can handle a more intense plan.

The training plans were crafted Christine Hinton, a running coach who (at least in the podcast they did with her) sounds so sane and knowledgeable about running. Before each training plan, they talk about where you should be in your personal fitness and running before you tackle each distance. There’s also a great community on Facebook and the AnotherMotherRunner site for questions and support from others using these plans.

This would be a great gift for the runner in your life who’s looking to start training at any level and honestly full of interesting information for a runner at any level, even if you have no plans to cross a starting line. Definitely check it out!

*Totally unsolicited, unsponsored review of my own personal copy of the book.

18 responses to “Book Review: Train Like a Mother

  1. Jen Mitchell says:

    I also bought this book and will be using the Finish It HM plan. This will be my first HM. What I like about it is that it will work nicely with my ST plan I’m doing twice a week. Those will be my XT days. And I’m happy to get some direction with my speed work. Hope we’re both successful!

  2. I’ve never heard of this book before…it definitely sounds awesome and helpful (and realistic, too)!

  3. Great review! I’m almost finished with Run Like a Mother and Train Like a Mother is next on the list! I love your note from Sarah! I admit, I considered the TLAM Finish It Plan for my race last week but I was a little intimidated since it was my first half. I think now though, having one under my belt that I could take on the Finish It Plan and I agree, I loved the flexibility built into the schedule with some of the days as “skip” and others that are must-do days. I have decided that I am really going to hunker down for my next half and train properly, so I will definitely be keeping their plan in mind when I start training. When is your race in Des Moines?

  4. […] are feeling the same joy. A new running book would be great, like Train Like a Mother, which I reviewed this weekend, the newly released Runner’s World Big Book of Running for Beginners-which I’ve read […]

  5. […] half marathon will be here before I know it. I’m using the “Finish It” plan from Train Like a Mother. It’s a definite step up in intensity from the training plan I used for Princess (already […]

  6. […] one I get for registering away here on the blog! My first giveaway! I love the book (check out my review here) so I’m looking forward to sending the book on to someone! A couple of interesting articles […]

  7. […] included a signed copy of Train Like a Mother. I already have and love this book (and reviewed it here), so I’m passing this on to someone else! It’s a great training reference, whether your […]

  8. […] for all of the great book recommendations! The winner (per random.org) of the signed copy of Train Like a Mother is Annmarie at FitFoodieMama. Email me at littlemoreeachday@gmail.com so I can send the book your […]

  9. […] I’ll essentially be following the half marathon “run it” training plan from Train Like a Mother, slightly modified for the 13.FUN virtual half […]

  10. […] – Running-themed books: On my wish list this year are My Life on the Run by Bart Yasso, The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances by Matthew Inman (aka The Oatmeal) and Marathon Woman by Kathrine Switzer. From everything I’ve heard and samples I’ve seen, as well as interviews with Bart Yasso and Kathrine Switzer, these offer quick doses of humor and inspiration to keep the runner in your life motivated and entertained. Other books I’d suggest would be Running Like a Girl, Runner’s Guide to Yoga and Train Like a Mother, all of which I got as Christmas gifts last year and loved  (check out my reviews here and here). […]

  11. […] time of year, so there is no excuse for not laying it all out there. I’m going to use the Train Like a Mother half marathon Finish It plan again, which I used for Des Moines. Looking back through my training […]

  12. […] but it’s great and I’ve re-read it several times!) and Train Like a Mother (reviewed here). I knew this new book would retain their trademark honesty, humor and realistic, welcoming […]

  13. […] the first Runner’s World cookbook (reviewed here) and any of the Another Mother Runner books (here and here) for the runner in your life. A whole list of other book reviews for ideas is […]

  14. […] Sarah of the fabulous Another Mother Runner duo which was a nice highlight! She signed my copy of Train Like a Mother and gave great tips for my first half […]

Leave a Reply

