A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Why do you blog?

on April 10, 2014

Yesterday, a friend at work was super excited because she had her very blog comment. She was giddy all morning and it was very cute to see. I didn’t even realize she had a blog and can’t link it here for you to see because she’s too shy to show me. πŸ™‚ Apparently I’m a “real” blogger so she was embarrassed for me to see her “little” blog.

We ended up having a really interesting conversation about why we blog. For her, it actually started because she wanted to make a Pin about a nursing tank hack she used and thus needed a website to link. She has subsequently posted things like packing lists she uses as a mom of three, with the logic that if it is helpful to her, it’ll be helpful to others. I hope she keeps it up (and eventually tells me what her blog is so I can cheer her on!).

I blog for a few different reasons.

– I felt like putting my training and my weight maintenance struggles out into the world would help me stay accountable to my new healthy lifestyle choices. I never really expected anyone to read it, but just writing the plans and goals down and sending them out into the world was powerful for me.

– I use this space a lot as a way to work out my thoughts and struggles, similar to the journals I’ve never been as consistent with as I’d like to be. Just writing things down and sorting out my thoughts helps me figure out what my real concerns and needs are when I’m struggling with something.

image

– In the journal above, I kept notes about my workouts and bad weigh ins and thoughts about binge episodes, like a traditional journal. I also used it as a place to keep notes about the things I learned in reading about things like fueling runs, when to get a massage as a runner or how to deal with pedicures as a runner.Β  The blog serves as an electronic place to keep those notes now and I search my own posts to recheck my notes when I have questions about something I know I’ve researched before.Β  I also figure that if it is something I looked up, someone else may have that question too. I firmly believe there’s no such thing as a stupid question.

– I didn’t expect to find such a great community of readers and other bloggers. I’ve gotten so much support from you guys and gotten lots of great practical tips too (Kristin – I absolutely love the Cold Coffee concentrate from Trader Joe’s too!). I was a blog lurker and very rarely commented on blogs before I started writing myself. Now that I know the kind of community we can build through blogs, I am much more likely to comment on a blog that resonates with me. Never be afraid to speak up. We can learn so much from each other.

image

I’m not such a “real blogger” that I was able to answer any of Kallie’s questions about how to find out many people really see the blog or how they get to it (from Google, etc) or anything like that. Maybe one day I’ll spend some time optimizing things for search engines or Pinterest or those other bloggy things, but probably not anytime soon (although I know there are great resources with that kind of information out there). In the meantime, we’ll all stumble though this together. Given my goals with the blog (accountability, community, processing, knowledge sharing), I’m okay with being an amateur blogger.

If you blog, why did you start? What has surprised you about the process?

If you’re a blog reader, how did you get started reading blogs? I think I started as a blog reader when I was pregnant and Googled something that brought me to Pioneer Woman and Young House Love, both of which I still enjoy today.

 

11 responses to “Why do you blog?

  1. All awesome reasons! I hope your co-worker let’s you read her blog someday. :0)

    I remember when preparing for my first half marathon (the 2013 PHM) I exhausted Google searching for any and all information I could find. I wanted race recaps, race tips, runDisney information and I found tons of info through blogs. About a month after the PHM I decided I really wanted to 1) help others look for information/race recaps for races they are thinking about running and 2) I had just realized I was extremely addicted to runDisney and I knew I wanted to continue training for more races so i thought blogging would be a great way to keep accountable! I had no idea I would meet so many awesome people!!

    • The Princess Half Marathon blogs just made everything look so fun! That’s a lot what got me hooked too. πŸ™‚ Speaking of runDisney blogs, I read one today about Tink v PHM and find myself really wanting to go out to run Tink one day!

      On Thu, Apr 10, 2014 at 6:31 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. leannenalani says:

    I think I started blogging for similar reasons as you did. At first I just wanted a springboard to tell my story but then I used it to talk about my life, successes, struggles, etc. I started reading blogs when I started doing my own. Technically I started blogging back in the mid-2000’s on a different website called Extrapounds.com. OMG I couldn’t remember what it was called so I actually had to Google the name and I’m still on the front page. haha It’s been so long.

  3. I’ve been thinking about this a lot actually, I started from reading “big” blogs that came up on a search, and enjoyed reading them so much more than regular articles.
    I started blogging as an outlet to write about something that interests me and that I don’t always have people to talk about with, and I’m surprised at how much I’m actually enjoying it.

    • I think my husband appreciates that I have somewhere else to talk about all of these things, instead of just to him. πŸ™‚

      On Thu, Apr 10, 2014 at 9:47 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  4. […] forgotten about my original blog over at Extrapounds.com. This came to mind when I was reading Jessica’s blog post at A Little More Each Day, Why Do You Blog?Β First, it brought me back to the beginning of blogging. Not the beginning of weight loss because […]

  5. I started mine for similar reasons, almost nearly all as a journal type outlet for myself. I found so many amazing friends along the way and love that I have readers, even though I didn’t start off blogging for readers. I definitely still use my blog to just keep track of my running and life as well as to work through things in my head.

  6. I can absolutely relate to your co-workers excitement over a blog comment! πŸ™‚ I remember completely geeking out over my first comment from someone other than the few people I told I had started a blog. Come to think of it, I think it was one of your comments, Jessica! It was such a great feeling meeting new people in the blogging world that I might not have otherwise known. Much like you, I blog to hold myself accountable and to share my struggles and successes with others who might be in a similar situation. There is power in writing down your goals and sharing them with others and I’ve found that blogging is a wonderful outlet for me. It was scary at first sharing my story and eventually my starting weight, etc, but this online community is truly supportive and encouraging and it is great to be a part of! (I love your keep calm and carry on journal!)

    • I didn’t tell anyone in real life other than my husband to start with, and I think one friend. My family still doesn’t know. πŸ™‚ It really does help with accountability for me.

Leave a Reply

