A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Saturday Coffee Date: My first link up!

on April 5, 2014

Jill (jillconyers.com), Nikki (Grab Your Kicks) and Lynda (FitnessMomWineCountry) are hosting a virtual Ultimate Coffee Date on Saturday mornings and given a) I always start my Saturday with coffee – well, every day really and b) I’ve never done a link up before, I decided to take the plunge and join in!

If we were having a Saturday morning coffee date,

. . . I’d probably start by venting about potty training my 2.5 year old. I swear I miss diapers sometimes. It wouldn’t be so bad if he didn’t gag when I was trying to get him out of his underwear after an accident! Thank goodness he’s cute.

image

. . . we’d probably talk about the frustrations of trying to manage both acne and wrinkles as a 35 year old because surely I’m not the only one dealing with this right? I didn’t have trouble at all with acne until I went off the pill after I got my IUD and figuring out this new skin cocktail is frustrating for this low-maintenance mama. I haven’t thought about pimples since I was teenager!

image

. . . right about now I’d feel guilty about all of my shallow venting, so we’d talk about the situation in Russia and how concerning and depressing it is and what kind of world we are leaving our children. It’s Saturday morning coffee, so to cheer ourselves back up we’d talk about the awesome response Honeymaid gave to some backlash they recently experienced after postingย  an ad that was inclusive of many different kinds of families. So often we focus on all of the negative feedback and I love that they referenced the negative comments, but also highlighted the overwhelming number of positive responses they received as well. All too often in life, we talk about the negative but the positive and supportive things get too little screen time.

. . . it’s Saturday, so we’d talk about movies and TV because we still love them even though it’s hard to find the time with workouts and work and kids and life. We’d talk about last night’s Grimm (love mama Grimm!) and tomorrow night’s Once Upon a Time and plans to get out to see the new Captain America movie.

. . . it’s Saturday and I’m a runner, so of course we’d have to talk about today’s run. 5.5 miles in a new park and my first 10+ mile week since the Princess Half Marathon at the end of February.

Coffee for me today was an extra-large French vanilla, black, from Dunkin Donuts. What coffee do you like? If you’re not a coffee drinker, what is your favorite morning drink?

Check out the rest of the link up! (And fingers crossed that I actually managed to do the linking part!)

Ultimate Coffee Date: jillconyers.com

Enjoy your Saturday!

12 responses to “Saturday Coffee Date: My first link up!

  1. I’ll take a skinny vanilla latte from Panera!

    Grimm was definitely awesome last night, and I am SO excited for OUAT tomorrow!!! I am working this weekend, but I want to see Captain America asap!

    • I love skinny vanilla lattes! That was my go-to treat on long run days when I was in training.

      I think we’ll be heading out to see Captain America over Easter if my parents come to visit. Yay for babysitters!

      On Sat, Apr 5, 2014 at 3:41 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Kristin says:

    Wow, great things we’d talk about!! So cool and sorry to hear about some of your frustrations but great job on your run!! Acne is SO frustrating, right? I’m 28 and have problems with it, too! Ugh!! Have a fab rest of the weekend!!

    • I had no trouble in my twenties but now I feel a bit like a teenager again. Still, if those are the biggest irritations in my day, I’ve got a pretty blessed life, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

      On Sat, Apr 5, 2014 at 3:45 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. Can’t believe this was your first link up! How cool! Thanks for joining in on the fun. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hear you with acne. I recently went off the pill and it’s come back. Grrr, I thought those days were over!

  4. Interesting talk!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I like any coffee, as long as it’s big size, strong, and with milk and sugar.

    • Big size is crucical. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m heading out soon for my weekly breakfast date with my 2 year old and aside from the fun of time alone with him, I really love the bottomless pot of coffee at our favorite breakfast place.

  5. jillconyers says:

    Good morning! I’m so happy we could get together and catch up ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yes, we would definitely have to talk about running! Potty training kids? I remember it well and my kids are both teenagers LOL

    I’m looking forward to getting together again ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. leannenalani says:

    I’ve had to deal with blemish issues my whole life (even on the pill) because I have such oily skin. Kind of sucks, but at least it’s not as bad as it was as a teenager. I swear by Nutrogena’s Fresh Foaming Cleanser. It comes in a light blue bottle, completely cleans my face, and even removes black make-up. Oh boy, I’m not looking forward to dealing with wrinkles. I’m turning 32 this year so that must be right around the corner, huh?

    • Wrinkles make me miss my fat a little. ๐Ÿ™‚ Really, I only notice them right now in pictures when I smile and that’s not such a bad thing. I notice my forehead too, but I’m pretty sure I’m the only one who does (and even that is better with the Philosophy stuff). It’s just a weird place in life – to worry about both. Ah, the joys of being a girl. Why can’t we just look distinguished with wrinkles and grey hair like guys do?

      On Mon, Apr 7, 2014 at 12:52 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

