A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Setting strong April goals after a lackluster March

on April 1, 2014

Writing goals on a day celebrated for tomfoolery seems like I’m tempting fate, doesn’t it? Something about the promise of spring and the beginning of new month and the Easter season has me thinking very much about goals and new challenges, so I’ll take the chance today to commit to my goals in writing (and hope the April Fool’s Day imps stay away).

Looking back at March goals, I think this is actually the furthest from the mark I’ve ever been! I could make excuses and say that I was letting my broken toe heel, which is partially true, but the honest truth is that I definitely let my activity slide in March. I was just very unfocused and that translates to very little movement for me apparently. Looking at my Fitbit reports each week, it was easy to see in black and white that not only was I not running as much (somewhat expected after my first half marathon and a broken toe) but I wasn’t moving much in general and there is no excuse for that!

I did respect my broken and it’s need to heal, which was good and achieved one of my goals for last month. I also got to one yoga class at the gym, which was very relaxing and such a great deep stretch. Of course, I only managed to get there once. I never made it Zumba, which was another goal for the month, and I never made it to the rock wall.

I did get in a couple of speed workouts with my running, which was good, and I think I’ve figured out what my non-training running routine will look like for a while, which was a big goal for last month. I also managed to get to my glass class and now have a couple of homemade projects for my parents for Mother’s and Father’s Day, which is always fun!

image

For April, I think a couple of March’s failed tasks need to come back on the list.
– Zumba: I really enjoy it, I need to move more and the classes are in the evening so there’s no reason I can’t get there at least twice this month! I don’t want to commit to weekly because I don’t like missing bedtime/dinnertime too often. My weekday time with O is so short and the Zumba classes are at 7, right in the middle of dinner/bed.
-Rock wall: There’s really no excuse anymore. My toe is healed. The gym has daycare. I think I’m going to drag my husband out there with me this weekend to try it out.

My new goals are focused on the fact that I really need to get back into the habit of moving more. A big part of maintenance is keeping with the habits that helped me lose in the first place and I think that’s starting to slip a bit. It’s okay to slip every once in a while, but it’s time to haul things back into line. I’ll be posting later this week (probably Thursday) with some specifics about the issues I’ve been having this month with maintenance and my plan for righting the ship, but for now I’ll just say that a big goal for this month is to start losing the couple of pounds that have crept back on since I stopped running 20 miles a week.

I’m also going to try out the new non-training running routine that I think will work for me until I start training for my next half marathon in the fall. That will include a 3 mile run, speedwork and a long run of 4-6 miles each week, plus two cross training sessions (with one cross training session swapped for a “fun run” if I want to). I know that’s not nearly as long as my long runs were just a month ago, but I want to ease back into it. To help me stick to that goal, I’ve joined a 100 mile challenge thanks to Desiree over at Finding the Skinny Geek Within. The goal of the group is to run, walk, etc 100 miles between April 1 and May 31. If you’d like to join the group, email Desiree (skinnygeekwithin@gmail.com) or myself (littlemoreeachday@gmail.com) and we’ll send you the invite link.

I’m also participating in the Every Body Every Day program at work that I mentioned last week (Workplace Wellness). The purpose of the program is to plan out your activity each day, which I think is really where I’ve fallen short now that I’m no longer on a training plan. Every day this week, I have a plan in my planner for my exercise for the day. It doesn’t have to be a lot – it just has to be something!

The last goal for this month is not an activity or diet goal, but it’s an important goal nonetheless. I’ve put off resizing my wedding rings for months now. It’s been a year since I could wear them on my ring finger and for the last few months, I’ve gone without them more days that I’ve worn them just because I’m afraid to lose them. I think I need to take the plunge and commit to myself that these little fingers are mine now. They are not going to get fat again and therefore I need to get my rings sized so that they actually fit me. I miss wearing them.

The one bit of April Fool’s oddity that I’ve had in my day is the delivery of this suitcase just a few minutes ago:

image

It’s a big plastic case, complete with combination lock and makes me feel like I’ve just taken possession nuclear launch keys or something. Really, it’s just a recording system that I’m going to use to record a lecture tomorrow afternoon but it makes me feel sort of secret agenty. 🙂

What are you goals for April? Anybody else feeling like they need a renewed sense of focus this spring?

9 responses to “Setting strong April goals after a lackluster March

  1. Yea, I’m definitely getting my exercise mojo back and ready to kick this plateau to the curb!

    Excellent and very attainable goals there!

  2. Awesome goals! Can’t wait to hear about how your rock wall experience goes!

    There is a jump rope challenge going on for the month of April that I’m thinking I will participate in. My other goals are to get back to a consistent workout routine after last week’s off-week, and if training goes well over the next few weeks, maybe break that 2 hour half marathon mark at Nike Women’s in late April!

    • Given how your last half marathon went, I have no doubt you’re going break the 2 hour mark at Nike Women’s! I can’t wait to hear about that race. It sounds like such a blast. I am in no way coordinated enough to participate in a jump rope challenge. Just jumping for a minute would be challenge enough and yet I know I could jump forever as a kid back in the “Jump Rump for Heart” days in elementary school.

      On Tue, Apr 1, 2014 at 12:47 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. leannenalani says:

    Oh, the rings. I think that is one of the biggest weight loss milestones! The day I was able to get my rings off my fingers… (They were stuck on there for the longest time until about 3-4 months into weight loss) I immediately texted a photo to my husband. But yeah, accepting such a wonderful and crazy change is pretty awesome. 🙂

    • This weekend, I’m planning on hitting the jeweler and taking the plunge! I’ll be sure to share new pictures of my rings finally back in their proper homes when I get them.

      On Wed, Apr 2, 2014 at 2:36 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  4. I can’t wait to read your post tomorrow about “righting the ship.” I am on a shipwreck as far as weight loss but I plan to re-focus after my race Sunday. I love your April goals; Zumba is so fun and both it and the rock wall are great, unique ways to exercise. Don’t be too hard on yourself about March. As you said, you were recovering from a half marathon and nursing a broken toe. A somewhat restful month was probably in order. 🙂

    • The key is not letting that “restful month” become a restful year right? It’s definitely a good time to reassess a bit.

      On Wed, Apr 2, 2014 at 9:11 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  5. […] Who reruns like I did last night. While I’m getting back to a more regular running routine (April goals), I don’t want to rely on that to keep things in check. Movement throughout the day is […]

Leave a Reply

