A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

What makes you smile?

on March 18, 2014

I was trying to order my Princess Half Marathon photo book over lunch today (grrrr – Shutterfly code from Marathonfoto is not working) and was reminded of my mother telling me that she was amazed at how much I was smiling in all of the pictures she got via text of the event last month. She said that she couldn’t imagine how anyone could be smiling while running 13 miles, much less in the Florida humidity and at that time of morning!

My arms are up in almost all of the photos for some reason :)

My arms are up in almost all of the photos for some reason 🙂

It’s definitely hard to explain. Running makes me happy. It makes me smile in a way that is totally unexpected and yet very much appreciated. My husband accepts this about me even if he doesn’t understand it. He likes to see me smile, so he actually pointed out a local race to me that he thought I should run because it had a cute medal. 🙂 I’m a lucky girl. He makes me smile too.

Yesterday, I only ran a mile and yet that mile made me happy. I didn’t have a lot of time to get a run in, so I decided a short jaunt would be better than nothing and it gave me the opportunity to practice thinking about quick foot turnover. That mile made me smile for the rest of the evening.

Tonight, I have a date with my son for pizza and Frozen (Amazon please have delivered that today!). That will also make me smile.

Frozen shipping update

As does this:

image

My guy pretending to be a baby doctor yesterday. It made my little heart go pitter pat. I do wonder what he is going to be when he grows up. He is such a sweet soul.

Someone today could not believe I’ve done my job for as long as I have because I looked “far too young” and I’m shallow enough that that made me smile too. Thank you to Philosophy’s Help Me for making my wrinkles a little less noticeable 🙂

What makes you smile?

8 responses to “What makes you smile?

  1. Kristin says:

    Oh my gosh, what a sweet, adorable post!! I just love this!!!
    What makes me smile? Animals, running, swimming, and yoga!! 😉

  2. I love this! This post definitely shows again how alike we are. :0)

    I try to find something to smile about every day. Running makes me smile, and non-runners may never understand and that’s ok… all that matters is that it’s important to me! We are so lucky to have supportive husband’s/families that encourage this love as well! That definitely makes me smile.

  3. That picture of your son is so cute! For some reason, maybe the way he is holding the doll, it reminded me of my son pretending to breastfeed a smurf a couple years ago.. totally funny.

    • I could definitely see that! My parents don’t like seeing him play with dolls but I love that it let’s him practice being gentle with someone smaller and more fragile than he is.

      On Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 2:28 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  4. leannenalani says:

    Pretty good stuff! Lately I’ve been listening to some old-school 90’s music on Pandora, like Savage Garden, Backstreet Boys, and Barenaked Ladies. That has been lifting my mood!

    • I love that 90s music is “old school” now. 🙂 Those were definitely some of my favorites (Still love BNL!)

      On Wed, Mar 19, 2014 at 11:22 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

