A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Back to running and it feels so good!

on March 16, 2014

Okay, feels good “physically” might be overstating things a bit, but mentally it feels great to be running again.

Thanks to my sticker chart, I did much better with activity overall this week, after last week’s general laziness.

imageI didn’t get to yoga last Sunday, but I did get a walk around the neighborhood in on Sunday and Monday. Tuesday, I only got in ten minutes walking a couple of quick laps around Target, but it was better than nothing. Thursday, the weather was nice enough that I headed out for a nice long walk at work over lunch.

imageIt’s been a long time since the weather was nice enough to do that! I like walking on campus because there are good sidewalks, it’s hilly enough to be a challenge and the university actually maps available with different walking paths marked so that you can find a walking route of whatever mileage you’d like. The loop I do is about a mile and a half, which is not too much but enough to make me feel like I’m making the effort.

After walking without any pain all week and wearing regular shoes (rather than sneakers or Toms) all week without pain, I finally let myself go for a run on Friday. The weather has been so gorgeous I’ve been tempted before this, but didn’t want to push it and screw up healing my toe. Finally, Friday afternoon I got to break out my running gear and hit the road in my neighborhood.

imageIt was a gorgeous day! I ran only two miles, because a) I didn’t want to push too much on the first ran back after two weeks off and b) I had to go to daycare to get O pretty quickly after this, so I didn’t want to get too sweaty. My legs felt stiff, but otherwise things felt really good (albeit heavy footed!). A definite perk of a SparkleSkirt is that I still looked cute and presentable showing up at daycare to get O right after this run.

I got another two miles in on Saturday afternoon but felt a lot stiffer after that effort! If I don’t make it to yoga today (there are three classes so I should be able to get there!), I’ll need to do one of my home yoga DVDs. I know once I get back into the groove of running regularly, things will feel less stiff and awkward. It’s amazing how quickly your body “forgets” these things. I have no plans to push anything, running-wise, this month. I’d just like to settle back into a routine with running 3-4 times a week.

We’ve a good weekend, playing at the library and planning for some spring clean up in terms of re-organizing the garage, getting some electronics recycled and of course, planning my garden. I hope you guys are having a good weekend as well! I’m loving seeing all of the St Patrick’s – themed race pictures on Facebook this weekend. Glad everyone is out and enjoying these glimpses of spring!

image

7 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Back to running and it feels so good!

  1. I bet it feels great to be back running. You actually kept pretty busy with other workouts anyway, that’s great.

  2. Kristin says:

    Sounds like a great weekend and I’m so happy you got some run in!! Awesome!! Must feel good to get out there in great weather!! 😉

  3. I am so glad you are back to running – I bet it feels good!! I’ve been seeing so many St. Patrick’s day race pictures..makes me wish I would have done a 5K or something this week. Oh well – next year!

Leave a Reply

