A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: My Must-Have Kitchen Tools

on March 5, 2014

Post-vacation fatigue + Cold winter weather that calls for soups & stews + Lots of late nights = Lots of slow cooker meals in this week’s meal plan.

My slow cooker is absolutely one of my must-have kitchen items and crucial in my weight management because it means on busy days, I can have dinner waiting at home for me and resist the urge to stop off for fast food on the way home. My slow cooker died this week and so I had to hit Target on Monday evening to pick up a new one. Standing in the check out line, I found myself thinking about what other things in my kitchen weight loss arsenal would require immediately replacing.

Food scale: If you were only going to buy one thing for the kitchen to help out with weight management, a kitchen scale would be it. Mine is digital, small and very lightweight which helps since I drag it out at almost every meal. Weighing things can be more accurate than measuring in a cup for some thing (I can cram a lot of cheese in a measuring cup!) and it can be easier if you’re doing multiple items (just zero/taro the scale when adding each new ingredient to keep track of each component).

Food scale

Measuring spoons/cups: We have multiple sets of measuring spoons and cups because they are constantly in use and I don’t want my measuring tools being dirty to be an excuse not to accurately measure things. Almost two years into this journey, I still measure almost everything because I still do not completely trust my sense of sizing. I found myself nodding along with Shelley’s post about expecting more milk shake after her half marathon! Left to my own devices, I’d still eat entirely too much food (the one disadvantage to still eating a ton of food thanks to all of my produce – I’m still used to big volume). I estimate when I’m out at restaurants, but at home I try to always have things at hand to measure accurately.

imageColanders: I counted and I currently own 5 colanders! I use them several times daily because I’m constantly washing fruit and veggies for meals and snacks. The big green one lives on the counter full time so it is always at hand (buy kitchen tools you enjoy using & looking at and you’ll use them more often!).

imageSheet pans: I have a couple of big sheet pans that I use to roast veggies. I’m still  not a big fan of raw veggies for snacks, so I cover the sheet pans with foil and pop them in the oven with butternut squash, broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes, peppers and other veggies for an easy snack or side dish. Again, having multiples of things that I use frequently makes things quicker and easier and quick & easy means I’m more likely to make healthy choices!

What are your go-to kitchen tools for weight management?

8 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: My Must-Have Kitchen Tools

  1. 365dayrunner says:

    I agree, especially with the food scale! It keeps anyone accurate as you can fudge the amounts in measuring cups/spoons, but you can’t have the scale lie 🙂

  2. Great tips! I found myself smiling when reading about why to buy a scale. I can cram a whole heck of a lot of cheese into a measuring cup, too lol! I honestly have been meaning to get a digital one for a long time but it always slips my mind. I just need to go get one!

    • My scale is definitely something I use every day. In a lot of cases, it’s easier than getting a measuring cup (or multiple measuring cups!) dirty. It definitely saves me from cheese overdose. 🙂

      On Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 7:33 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. leannenalani says:

    Agreed! On all those things. We could use a better colander and new measuring cups, though.

  4. Becca says:

    I need to get a scale! I can see how it would make my life so much easier. I also love roasted veggies – zucchini, squash, carrots, beans, garlic cloves, green/red peppers, sweet potatoes, potatoes, onions! Love them all! It’s weird because I can eat steamed or raw broccoli all day long, but I don’t really care for it roasted. My husband loves broccoli roasted, but doesn’t care for it steamed or raw. We are totally backwards!

    • I just ate a giant batch of roasted broccoli tonight. Darrell doesn’t like it roasted at all either! I don’t like many veggies raw, so I’ve constantly got my sheet pans for roasting in rotation. It’s a good reason to have more than one so I have no excuse not to make veggies. 🙂 The scale is so much easier than measuring cups once you get in the habit of using them. Definitely worth the little investment! (Mine is from the gadget wall at Target – love that place!)

Leave a Reply

