A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Mission Accomplished!

on March 2, 2014

We all got safely home from Florida yesterday and I am now easing back into normal life post-Disney. I will confess that I am wearing my new Every Mile is Magic long sleeved tech shirt this morning as I write this, even though I have no intention to run this morning, but it’s a warm shirt! It’s not that I’m unwilling to let go of Disney magic, I promise. (Okay, okay, we’re also listening to Disney soundtracks today)

We really had a wonderful week and while I’m physically tired from the trip, emotionally I feel like I was on vacation, if that makes sense? It was a great vacation and a great first half-marathon experience. I still have to remind myself that I really did that – I really ran a half marathon. I could have never imagined it a year ago!

PHM 2014 Garmin MapTomorrow I’ll post all about the full experience of the half marathon, but from a purely running stand point, I was really happy with my performance. It was crazy humid and I’m definitely still feeling the broken little toe, so I factored that into my expectations. My number one goal was just to finish and I purposefully didn’t train up to 13.1 miles so that I would at least be setting a new distance PR by crossing the finish line. My new longest run ever is 13.24 miles! As sort of a secondary goal, I wanted to try to average a 12 minute mile pace. My training runs had all been at or below 11 minute miles, but with the humidity and my toe I didn’t want to push it. I’m happy to say that I met that goal! According to my Garmin, my moving pace was 11:47 minute miles (and fairly consistent splits on the Garmin!). My moving time per the Garmin was 2:36:09 and my official time per RunDisney was 2:46:49 (with a few character stops, plus a bathroom break factored in). I finished with a place of 1086/3051 in the 35-39 age division and 6439/19294 among women overall. Not bad at all for my first half marathon, especially with the PHM crowding, 90+% humidity and a broken toe! I’m excited to see what I’ll be able to do with a non-runDisney half marathon and better conditions.

I also got a new record for most steps in a day on my FitBit that day, between the half marathon and a day at Epcot!

imageI confess that I was at 44,997 when I got in bed. I noticed that and hopped up to walk around and get over 45,000!

Workouts this week

This will be short and sweet as there weren’t many workouts. Lots of exercise with walking around the parks (so I think I’ll just give you my step counts for the days!), but not many structured workouts.

Monday & Tuesday: Stretching and walking around parks, but no workouts. Monday – 18,002 steps at Magic Kingdom; Tuesday – 16,733 steps at Hollywood Studios

Wednesday: First post-half marathon run, 30 minutes around the resort. I didn’t pay attention to my pace, but covered about 2.5 miles. I went easy, with 5:1 run:walk intervals and didn’t feel nearly as sluggish as I was expecting. My toe hurt for the first 5 minutes or so and then settled down, just like it had been doing every morning since we arrived, whether I ran or not. (22,709 steps between the run and Animal Kingdom)

Thursday: Walking around the Magic Kingdom, 17,605 steps

Friday: 25 minutes jogging, with a 6-7 minute jog over to the Health Club at the Grand Floridian, then a mile on the treadmill (I just wanted to check out the workout facilities), then the 6-7 minute jog back. No walk breaks, but not breaking any speed records either. Again, no pain and not particularly sluggish but I didn’t want to push. We spent the day at Magic Kingdom walking back and forth between Tomorrowland and Fantasyland hitting all of O’s favorites one last time and ended up with 20,889 steps for the day.

Saturday: Travel day, 10,478 steps (most of which were back and forth across my house as I unpacked and did laundry!)

Sunday: I was planning on heading to the gym for a 3 mile run, but between the cold (currently -7 F, and that’s not factoring in wind chill) and the fact that I’m still tired post-vacation, I think I may skip it as part of my “running because I want to, not because I have to” plan for the month now that I’m not on an official training plan! If I don’t run, I will at least do my 70 minute deep stretch DVD to get all of the kinks out.

In other weekly wrap up news, I stepped on the scale this morning and thanks to all of those steps, I was able to go without tracking for a week and find myself weighing exactly the same thing this morning (163.1) as I did Friday morning before I left (163.1). That makes me feel really good about my decision to indulge in my very first self-serve Dole Whip late Friday night even though I’d already had dessert. ๐Ÿ™‚ Who knows if we’ll stay at the Polynesian next time we go to Disney and I can’t pass up self-serve Dole Whip right? I was able to get a lot into that little cup and enjoyed every bite!

Self-serve Dole Whip

I’m glad to be home and have the last batch of laundry in the washer. Pot roast is in the slow cooker and 9 grain bread is working in the bread machine, so it’ll smell warm and cozy in here soon. We’re also all stocked up on groceries and meals planned for the week, so I’m going to enjoy spending the afternoon putting together our vacation photo book online and my PHM recap post for tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy your Sunday everyone!

 

9 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Mission Accomplished!

  1. Looking forward to the recap, I bet it was awesome.

  2. Kristin says:

    Great workouts for the week!! Walking around the parks make for great workouts so the bonus workouts are fantastic!!!

  3. WOW, 45,000 steps! That is crazy awesome!! I cannot wait to read all your recaps, I’m so excited for you! Also, passing up Dole Whips is next to impossible :0) They are so delicious!

  4. WOWZA 45000 STEPS!!! Such a great week and well deserved Dole Whip!

    • I always forget how good Dole Whips really are until I have one again! Yum! (And there were bystanders very impressed with how much I was able to get in that little self-serve cup)

      On Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 9:47 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

