A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Easing back into running after a big race

on March 1, 2014

I am definitely feeling the blues today as we leave the happiest place on earth. Thank goodness we have tons of pictures and videos to go through to relive the experience and tide us over until we get to come back! Knowing me, I’ll be looking at scheduling a return trip far sooner than my husband is expecting. 🙂

I am definitely dreading the way I’ll feel getting off of the last airplane once we get home tonight. I always feel stiff after flying, but after surviving my first half marathon and then a week in the park with a toddler who likes to be carried, I’m expecting the worst! My legs are definitely tired this week, but thanks to all of the things I learned after my 10K back in September (Recovery after a race – great recap of what to do post-race, if I do say so myself!) I haven’t been in pain or been unable to enjoy the parks.

After the half marathon, we spent the day wandering around Epcot (slowly) and I focused on lots of hydration and refueling. I think Epcot is the perfect place for both of those things! I had a massage on Monday morning, which really helped ease the kinks out even more (complete review on that coming next week).

In addition to wandering the parks (which is good for lots of miles of walking!) I did ease back into some running this week. Thankfully, I remember from my first week of running post-10K just how slow and sluggish it feels so I wasn’t expecting anything speedy or easy. I decided to roughly follow the Galloway plan of two 30 minute runs followed by a 3 mile run. On the RunDisney PHM training page, those workouts are set for Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday post-PHM. Because of our park plans and just to give my legs an extra day to recover, I went with Wednesday and Friday for 30 minute walk/runs and will tackle the 3 miles tomorrow. I actually didn’t even take my Garmin with me on the 30 minute outings so that I didn’t worry about pace or distance. I approached those runs as an opportunity to ease back into the running motion and nothing more. For next week, I’ll do the same while I try to figure out when I’m going to tackle my next running goal. I think the next thing I’ll work on is incorporating some speed work into my workouts, in pursuit of a new 5K PR and I definitely want to give my legs plenty of time to recover from travel, the half marathon and a week in the parks before I put them under that kind of new stress. Many experts recommend avoiding hard workouts or race for up to a day per mile run post-race, so waiting two weeks post-half marathon to start back into more serious running pursuits seems like a good idea to me. I’m looking forward to another week of running just for the joy of it, without a box to check on a training plan.

I am glad I headed out to run while we were still at Disney, because there were some gorgeous views along the lake as I ran from the Polynesian over to the Grand Floridian and then over to Shades of Green. My husband thought I was nuts but it was so peaceful and gorgeous!

Jogging trail between Polynesian and Grand Floridian

Jogging trail between Polynesian and Grand Floridian

Path from Polynesian to Shades of Green (complete with "Beware of Alligator" signs)

Path from Polynesian to Shades of Green (complete with “Beware of Alligator” signs)

 

How long do you wait after a half marathon to get back into running? Do you have a specific plan or just go by feel?

12 responses to “Easing back into running after a big race

  1. I make a plan, and follow it or tweak it depending on how I’m feeling. I ran a half marathon yesterday and I’m planning on running my usual mileage this week, except all easy, no hard effort. I did go for an easy run today, 10K, wasn’t planning on running but was feeling good so I went for it. I’ve read it can help avoid soreness, but I wouldn’t have gone if I had felt sore or heavy legs already.

    • My legs definitely don’t feel as sore or tired as I was expecting, I think because I’ve been so active this week. I think you’re right, getting back to normal helps a lot.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. Kristin says:

    Wow, beautiful pictures and I’m so glad you had a great trip!! That’s awesome!! I always hate leaving Disney, too!! It’s such a fun getaway!!! I usually wait a couple days to get back to it!! I usually have a running plan I follow!

  3. courage2run says:

    I don’t have much to add in regards to training plans after a big race, (my longest to date is a 7k), however I do think no matter how long the distance, it is always extremely important to really listen to my body and to give it the things it needs.

  4. Haha the best cure for leaving Disney World is immediately starting to plan the next time you’ll be there! :0) Hubby and I always make concrete plans as we’re on the ME heading to the airport LOL

    Very smart recovery/post-race running plans. I usually ease my way back into it after a long-distance race as well. I’ll do run/walk or a slower pace/lower mileage and usually feel back to 100% a week to a week and a half after the race. Great job this week!!

    • Right now I’m trying to talk myself out signing up for the Avengers half marathon in November! We were tired enough on the ME (540 am Saturday!) that I wasn’t going to try to sell my husband on the idea right then, but I’ll definitely be thinking about it. 🙂

      On Sun, Mar 2, 2014 at 4:40 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  5. […] after my first 10K here with lots of good general tips and Easing back into running after PHM here) that I can expect to feel slow and sluggish as I get back to running this week, but it is […]

Leave a Reply

