A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: It’s Finally here!

on February 23, 2014

As this posts, I’m finally starting the Princess Half Marathon! I can’t believe it is finally here. I can remember sitting on the deck with my husband on a sunny summer day trying to decide just how crazy I was to think that I could run a half marathon. If I was going to test out my ability to do something so insane, there’s no place I’d rather do it that Disney World! This place holds so many happy memories for me and I’m glad to add one more to the pile. I may not have a full race report up for a while since I’ll be focusing on enjoying this time with my son and my husband more than blogging, but rest assured I’ll have the whole story for you ASAP! In the meantime, I’ll be posting lots of pictures over on the Facebook page for the blog so be sure to check it out.

Weekly Workouts:

The plan for this week was to do two 30 minute runs, just to keep things loose, but primarily focus on rest and stretching (and packing!). That plan didn’t quite work out.

Monday: Yoga and stretching (with my friend’s two year old daughter – we had lots of laughs!)

Tuesday: Because of all of my travel snafus Monday thanks to a snowstorm in Indiana, I actually woke up Tuesday morning in Atlanta rather than in Omaha like I wanted to! I went for a little run (15 minutes) around the hotel, so I get to mark Georgia off of my 50 states list and then I got in a 30+ minute walk in the Atlanta airport while I was waiting for my flight.

I finally got home Tuesday afternoon and spent the evening hauling out suitcases to start packing. Every single time I get out the big suitcase, I manage to stub my toe on it at some point. Normally, it hurts at the time of injury but feels better shortly after. This time, I hit it hard enough that it was still sore on Wednesday morning. I actually ended up limping and had to change into my sneakers when I got to work so I could get around easier (yet another good reason to always have sneakers in your car!). I taped it up and crossed my fingers.

image

Wednesday/Thursday: No workouts (other than packing) because of the toe issue. If it is broken, I wanted to give it as much rest as possible so I’d have a shot at finishing the half marathon on Sunday. Note that if it had been my big toe rather than my little toe, I’d have gotten an x-ray and probably pulled out of the PHM if it was truly broken. You rely on your big toe too much for balance for me to run on it and I definitely don’t want to risk long term damage there! I’m clumsy enough as it is. Little toes are less crucial (aside from “wee wee wee all the way home”, which is essential in life) and move less in daily function, so 4+ days of relative rest will hopefully get it back to normal.

Friday: I got a fair number of steps in just walking through airports and the resort getting settled in to the Polynesian Friday night. I also went out for a short easy jog (didn’t even take my Garmin) just to see how my toe felt and to loosen up a bit in the Florida air.

Saturday: No workouts and despite all of the wandering I did at the Expo and spectating some races in the morning, I really tried to focus on sitting on putting my feet up every chance I got. I also did some gentle yoga stretches in the morning and before bed.

image

Sunday: Well, we all know what today’s workout is going to be, don’t we? πŸ™‚

Starting Wednesday night, I really worked on hydrating (thanks for whoever started posting that on Facebook! I’d lost track of how close we got to the race). Wednesday night, it was just water with my Diet Coke at Village Inn, but Thursday onward I’ve constantly kept a bottle of water with Nuun by my side. I knew it would be warmer and more humid than I was used to in Florida and I wanted to be sure I had my tank full before the race. All of that hydration definitely helped get in some extra steps in a light workout week!

Next time you hear from me, I’ll have (hopefully! knock on wood!) finished my very first half marathon! Send good vibes my way this morning! Thanks to all of you for your support along this journey!

 

9 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: It’s Finally here!

  1. Run hard and have fun!!!!

  2. Kristin says:

    AWESOME!!! GO!! GO!! GO!!! πŸ˜‰ You got it and are going to feel fantastic when done!! Can’t wait to hear about it!! Xoxo!!

  3. LOVE that photo with you and Prince Charming :0) I hope you are having a blast this weekend!

  4. leannenalani says:

    Good luck at the half marathon! Looking forward to seeing the pictures and hearing about it. You’ll do great!!!

Leave a Reply

