A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites (A little delayed)

on February 15, 2014

I got to catch up on lots of blog reading Friday while flying out to South Bend (still behind on commenting though!). Between blogs and the big stack of magazines I was behindon, I kept very busy. If you were in the Detroit airport yesterday, I was the girl walking the concourses reading her phone (well, maybe one of many doing this). Cross-training and social media – love multi-tasking thanks to technology!

image

*I will confess that I’m writing this blog post in a very old school spiral notebook while I’m flying from Detroit to South Bend. I love technology, but I still adore the meeting of pen and paper. (Wonder what my neighbor just thought of me taking a picture of my lap?)

image

My favorite food blog is Dinner:A Love Story and the cookbook of the same name is stellar. The food is approachable and delicious, but I particularly enjoy the sense of humor about balancing work, marriage and family. There was a post this week about the unofficial division of tasks that occurs in a household that really made me smile (link here), especially the part about buying or paying for whatever the task is if the primary provider of that particular job is unavailable. I will confess to being tempted by that myself! There’s also a discussion of steel cut oats and the absolute importance of toppings – I’m a blueberry, cinnamon & vanilla girl myself.

Christine at WeRunDisney has a list of tips for your first marathon that I would encourage you to check out before tackling any new distance, not just a marathon. I have a feeling I’ll be re-reading those to myself a lot a week from now as I await PHM, especially the part about having fun and remembering that crossing the finish line of a new distance is achievement enough, without a time goal your first time out.

I’ll also be replaying some of Lauren’s Disney themed motivational mantras as I travel to Florida in a few days. My favorite is the Christopher Robin quote: “You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem and smarter than you think.” In other Disney related posts, I found the walkthrough of the Expo over at Fairytales and Fitness to be really helpful as I plan my weekend.

I loved this idea from Where’s the Beach for modifying your running shoes with screws from the hardware store in order to run better in snow. Genius!

Lastly, Kate has a great roundup of posts about balancing motherhood and fitness , with ideas that apply to anyone trying to find time and motivation to fit exercise into their lives, not just mothers.

Since I was going to be gone for Valentine’s Day (left the house at 415 am Friday, before anyone other than the dog was awake), my two favorite boys gave me my gifts Thursday night:

image

The black version of the UA Superman tech shirt (So cool! Love!) and three sweet cards. Words are definitely my love language, so I’ll be re-reading these over and over. O loves greeting cards, just like his mama, so he made sure I got several.

image

Have a great weekend everyone!

3 responses to “Friday Favorites (A little delayed)

  1. Hey Jessica! Thanks for including me! I love that you wrote this post on paper–I don’t think I’ve ever done that for a blog post, but a big steno pad and lots of post its are how I brainstorm my posts. 🙂 Have a great weekend.

  2. Have you read ‘The 5 Love Languages’? I only ask since you mentioned that words are your love language :0) And if you have read it, that is awesome because it is definitely a fantastic book!

    Christine’s tips for running your first marathon was on my list of favorite things this week, too. With my first one coming up in a couple weeks it was exactly what I needed to read!

Leave a Reply

