A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Happy Valentine’s Day: A thank you to my wonderful husband

on February 14, 2014
Today, I went off call at 6 am and my plane took off at 6:05, to fly me off to South Bend, Indiana for my godson’s baptism this weekend. When my husband and I talked about my travel plans for this weekend, we picked this flight because it was a lot cheaper but didn’t realize this would mean missing Valentine’s Day. We also missed celebrating our last anniversary together because I was traveling! I am a horrible wife some days!

To make up for this in a tiny way, today’s post is dedicated to my fantastic husband, without whom so much of my life would be lessened. He is the father of our gorgeous son, and an absolutely wonderful dad (who does lots of weekends of solo parenting because of my travel – send him good vibes this weekend).For the blog post today, I really wanted to focus on how supportive he has been of my weight loss, my running and the blog. Whenever I get asked what has helped me most along my journey, my first thought is honestly my husband. I never answer that, because it seems like bragging and I know the fact that I have a hugely supportive spouse is a big blessing in my life that many people don’t have. Truthfully, though, he is my secret weapon. I hear so many people who are trying to make these changes in their lifestyle without their partner’s help at all, or worse, with their partner actively working against them. I am so lucky that I’ve never had that issue with D.
October 2011

He fell in love with me, married me and thought I was the most beautiful woman in the world 100+ pounds ago. I’ve never in any way felt pressure from him to lose weight or change anything about my appearance, but when I decided I needed to make changes he was immediately and completely on board. He threw away the birthday cake for me the first night and at every step along along the way since that time, he’s asked what specifically he can do to help me. He’s handled the changes in our menus and our budget without complaint (okay, minimal complaints if I try to sneak in fish). He gives me feedback on new recipe ideas and helps come up with ways to make our family favorites healthier. He’s listened to a hundred navel-gazing conversations about loose skin, the scale not cooperating and “am I hungry”? questions. His patience is amazing. I bring home new running gear and new clothes and spend a fortune buying slacks before I find some that fit correctly, all with barely a raised eyebrow (even though I know it kills his frugal little soul). He never gets to sleep in on Saturday mornings anymore since I head out to Weight Watchers at 7am, leaving him to handle O alone when he wakes up.He has tried to get pictures of me at the finish line of several races, all while wrangling a two year old, which is an amazing feat.

He also serves as my technical troubleshooter for all things blog related, which is invaluable. We even spent a date night tweaking the blog at Village Inn. We’re wild and crazy types πŸ™‚
image
He is absolutely my biggest fan and is never surprised by any new feat I achieve, even when I’m surprised by myself. His complete and total faith in me means that he believes I can do anything at all I set my mind to. I carry that faith with every where I go and will carry that with me every mile along the way next week.
scan0017
I love you and know that missing these calendar days like Valentine’s Day or our anniversary really doesn’t matter because I get every day with you for the rest of my life and that is celebration enough. I am more grateful to you than you will ever know.
scan0016
My usual Friday Favorites will run tomorrow πŸ™‚ Enjoy Valentine’s Day!
9 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day: A thank you to my wonderful husband

  1. Awww Happy Valentine’s to you both even though you are missing each other today!

  2. What a wonderful post :0) Happy Valentine’s Day to both of you!! My husband is my #1 supporter too – such a blessing!

  3. Kristin says:

    Awww, beautiful pictures!! What a sweet post!! Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

  4. leannenalani says:

    Wow what a caring, loving and supportive husband. He’s a keeper. πŸ™‚ Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

