A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A little revelation about why I run . . .

on January 25, 2014

I had a little revelation Thursday while I was answering some questions for a profile on another blog. I was writing about the meaning behind my blog’s name and how I still repeat those words to myself often. I don’t have to be perfect, I just have to try to do a little more. I tell myself this when I’m struggling with a run (usually in the first couple of miles) or when I feel like a bad mom. The third example I listed originally said “or when I worry I am not going to achieve the level of professional success I want.” In re-reading that sentence before I sent this profile off, I realized it wasn’t true. I actually never worry that I’m not going to achieve the level of professional successwant because most days I feel like I have achieved more success professionally that I really deserve (which I know is not true; I just have a little “imposter syndrome”).

I do, however, worry that I will not achieve the level of professional success others expect of me and there is nothing I hate worse than disappointing people who have invested in me and who believe in me. Can you tell I’m a stereotypical over-achieving oldest child?

What I really love about running (aside from my awesome new leg muscles) is that no one has any expectations of me when I run except me. There’s no one to disappoint but me and that is so incredibly freeing. (This may be why I added Let It Go to my running playlist, now that I think about it.)

My husband has invested our time and money in my running and I am so grateful for his support, but I know he has no expectations other than my safety and happiness. Lots of others know about my running but they’re either a) not runners, so they’re already impressed that I’m even attempting to run  or b) runners, who it turns out are some of the most supportive, least judge-y people out there who expect nothing other than a joyful attempt. I can’t think of anything I’ve done that has come without performance expectations attached and for this little over-achieving soul, that is reason enough to lace up my shoes every day for the rest of my life.

I love that I look this happy in all of my post-race photos.

I love that I look this happy in all of my post-race photos.

Why do you run?

7 responses to “A little revelation about why I run . . .

  1. I too have found the running community to be filled with wonderfully supportive people who ‘get it’. We get what we’re putting ourselves through and we understand the painful ‘long run’ and the sore muscles and the ‘mental game’. But more importantly, we all get that we compete only against ourselves and that sometimes, hard as it may be, we just need to stop comparing ourselves to others and try to ‘..do a little more’ (as you say here:) everyday, in our own lives and not just in running. Thanks for the blog – I enjoyed it! Keep running:)

  2. Lauren says:

    You are so right about the running community – it is beyond supportive. I think that is why I love being around other runners for training runs, and races too!

    I am also another one of the stereotypical over-achieving-oldest-child people. Running is the most free-ing part of my life, and I will never give up that amazing feeling! Great post, Jess!!

  3. Love this post, Jessica! I have known very dedicated runners throughout my life and I was always impressed by the sparkle in their eye and sheer joy when they talked about running (and I admit, I thought it was crazy that anyone could be that excited about running). I absolutely get it know, though. There is something about proving to yourself that you can do it and there isn’t much else in life (other than childbirth for me) that gives you such a heaping sense of accomplishment and confidence. I, too, have been overwhelmed by the running and blogging community. It’s amazing to meet so many people who share the same goals and interests and who are so supportive. 🙂 We are now those “crazy” runners that I mentioned above. 🙂

  4. […] lot of the mental changes I’m experiencing in maintenance and accepting my identity as a runner, Revelations about why I run and Light at the End of the Binge Eating Tunnel. I also loved the experience of my Spur of the […]

Leave a Reply

