A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Spur of the moment run

on January 20, 2014
Yesterday, we had a freakishly gorgeous day for January in Omaha. It was sunny and 60 degrees in the afternoon. Amazing and unheard of around here! We spent most of our day outside. I know with the weather here, we have to soak up these days when we get them. We wandered around our new outlet mall (and found heaven on Earth – a Lindt chocolate store – yum!), had lunch and then drove O around for a quick car nap. When he woke up in a good mood, we did a quick run through the grocery store and then decided to hit the park. I had 5 miles on the schedule for the day and since I had my gym bag in the car, we decided we could have our afternoon snack at the park and I could get my run in while they soaked up some sunshine.
These small sizes make perfect portion controlled treats. Only 1-2 points each and so good one really is enough (most days)

These small sizes make perfect portion controlled treats. Only 1-2 points each and so good one really is enough (most days)

First, we had a picnic with fruit, Goldfish crackers, and my two year old squealing “We have a picnic” every few minutes. Then he & my husband hit the playground and I headed off to the restrooms to change into my running gear. Unfortunately, the restrooms were locked up for the season so I had to go to the port-a-potty set up nearby. That made for a very awkward changing experience. I actually ended up just changing out of my jeans and into my running skirt there. I went back to the car to switch into my sports bra. I think my husband was a little amazed that I managed that swap without flashing anybody. Boys are easily entertained by girl skills. 🙂

One thing I didn’t think of when we settled on this plan was that I would be running without my normal accessories. I keep an emergency pair of headphones in my gym bag and have podcasts (although no music) on my iPhone, so that was covered. I happened to have my Sparkle Skirt with its awesome pockets in my gym bag, so I was okay without my arm band or Spi belt to carry my phone. I didn’t have my GPS watch, although I do have a couple of apps on the phone that can track distance. I decided that this would be a good exercise in “naked” running for me. I usually run between 10:30-11 minute mile pace on easy runs, so I decided to run for 28 minutes out along the trail and then come back to the playground. Around 55 minutes of running should get me approximately 5 miles of distance and it would give me the chance to just run without checking my pace constantly. I stopped for walk breaks when I felt like I needed them, but tried to get them in at least every 5 minutes for a 5:1 run:walk ratio since I’d just run 5 miles on Saturday and didn’t want to push things. I was pleasantly surprised to see that I arrived back at my starting point in 27 minutes (after running out for 28 minutes), so my pace was very steady despite not having a real way to track it. On the way out, I tried to track my distance with the Charity Miles app but it had some kind of glitch, so I turned on Run4Good for the return trip. It measured the return trip at a little over 2.5 miles, so I met my goal of about 5 miles for the day (although Run4Good usually measures less than my Garmin as far as distance traveled). All in all, running by feel was really nice for a change and I’m glad I didn’t let the lack of a GPS keep me from enjoying this gorgeous day.

image

I returned from the trail to see my son having the time of his life on the swings, so I think it is safe to say we all had a fun afternoon (including my husband, who got to watch O play with other kids and enjoy a break from being O’s favorite play partner himself). There were loads of people and dogs out on the trails and the playgrounds. We have more single digit and negative temps coming up this week so we need to soak up these days when we get them!

image

One funny thing I noticed when I got home was that I had dried salt crystals from sweating all over me! I never felt particularly sweaty during or after the run, which surprised me a little as I’m a sweater. I’m grateful because, thanks to changing in the car, I decided to run in the cotton t-shirt I’d been wearing all day rather than changing into a tech shirt. I was worried about chafing but that wasn’t an issue thanks to the wind drying me out as I was running. I think that wind was also drying the sweat all over my body as I was running too, resulting in the grittiness. Very weird! I’m glad that doesn’t always happen to me (and glad I keep Nuun in the car so I could replenish as soon as my run was over!).

Today is sunny but cooling off again. I’m so glad we soaked up the weather while we could!

5 responses to “Spur of the moment run

  1. leannenalani says:

    Nice day at the park. That is silly that they lock the bathroom doors. When do people get to use it? I was at a sushi restaurant yesterday and their bathrooms were locked. We had to get the number code from the waitress.

    • I’m not sure why. Maybe they’re trying to discourage squatters in the winter when the park isn’t as busy? Of course, it’s been busy at the park all winter so I’m sure I’m not the only one irritated by it ( lots of ice fishing at this park). I always hate restaurants where you have to ask to access the restroom. It’s just so awkward! The last place I had to do that was at a Starbucks in Seattle. It made me want to give the code out to everyone on the street. Grrrr.

  2. Lauren says:

    Nice job changing in a porta-potty AND the car. I dunno if I could do that… not easily at least lol!

    • It was a challenge for sure! Especially when I realized there was someone outside waiting to use the port-a-potty. Thankfully, it was a really large handicap accessible unit so I had more room than usual.

  3. […] about why I run and Light at the End of the Binge Eating Tunnel. I also loved the experience of my Spur of the Moment Run and therefore love the pictures in that post (especially the chocolates!). Last but not least, […]

Leave a Reply

