A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Meg Miles Virtual Run

on January 17, 2014

First, a public service announcement: If you’re reading this while you’re walking along the sidewalk, be sure to pay attention to your surroundings! I nearly knocked myself out on this giant sign this morning, because I was reading on my phone as I walked!

image

Runner’s Health did an interesting post this week looking at the “best exercise to get back in shape.” I found it interesting because I hear really divergent opinions about the best exercise for weight loss (either I lost weight because I run or I must do a ton of strength training to have lost this weight – neither are true). I really enjoy reading this blog because they do a great looking at actual research and applying it to our fitness lives. So many times “research” in fitness writing is really just an opinion. It may be a well reasoned and logical opinion, but that isn’t actually research. There are actually interesting scientific studies out there that look at some of the questions constantly debated in the fitness world, but these studies often get little attention in the midst of much flashier media. There’s rarely one “right” answer to anything, but when real science has been done, it is deserves at least as much attention as the latest celebrity trainer’s opinion doesn’t it?

I’m loving all of the posts as people get ready for Tinkerbell this weekend, partially because the Tinkerbell swag is so cute (check out Lauren’s post here for pics – I would love to have that jacket) and partially because I get to travel a little vicariously through them. I’ve never been to Disney Land and Tink is very tempting. Maybe next year. 🙂 Also, if you don’t already, be sure to follow Lauren on Facebook so you can see all of her pics from the weekend! (here)

If you haven’t gone over here to collect your free Art Print for the Princess Half Marathon, be sure to check it out. Free souvenirs are always nice. You’ll need to bring your voucher to the expo to pick it up.

On a much more serious note, this week a running mother was killed by a drunk driver while out for a morning run. Please, please, please everyone be careful when they’re out on the road! On Saturday, there will be a virtual run to honor Meg (check out the Meg’s Miles Facebook page here) and to raise awareness of runner safety and drunk driving. Be careful out there and keep this family in your thoughts and prayers. I’ll be doing my five miles tomorrow for Meg and her family.

Have a safe and fun weekend! 5 weeks to go!

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Meg Miles Virtual Run

  1. Thank you very much for reading and liking my blog!
    Good luck with the running!

  2. Wow! 5 weeks left! Very exciting! Thank you for the PSA! I have done that too many times to count. I tripped once the week, but avoided signs. 🙂 Glad you did, too! Love the Tink jacket, too!

  3. Lauren says:

    Thanks for the shoutout Jess!!

    My 13.1 logged on Sunday was definitely for Meg’s miles. Such a terrible accident :0(

Leave a Reply

