A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Loads of New Year’s Resolutions!

on January 3, 2014

I am really enjoying seeing everyone’s approach to recapping the New Year and discussing their New Year’s resolutions in blogs this week.

I loved the top 5 “Nailed It” list over at Love Live Surf this week. It is such an emphatic way to celebrate your accomplishments for the year! Many women (myself included) tend to undersell the fabulous this we do instead of lifting them up in joy.

This time of year,  you hear so many people discussing grand and time limited New Year’s resolutions that it makes me cringe a little. It’s so easy to set yourself up for failure. Renee did a great job going through some of the things to keep in mind when making your resolutions over at FearlessFoodandFitness – keep it small, keep it specific and keep it realistic. I’d also be wary of setting anything that is time limited like “lose ten pounds by vacation” because have you really failed if you made the changes in  your diet and exercise routine but didn’t quite get to ten pounds? Of course not. We can only control the inputs in our lives, not the outputs. Focus your resolutions on changing those inputs, like resolving to work out three times a week or resolving to add one new veggie serving a day. The outputs will come when they’re ready. I also ran across a couple of good articles over at SparkPeople with great advice about setting realistic and achievable resolutions (here and here).

Heather over at Where’s the Beach has a great post-Christmas post up about how much your Christmas gifts change as you get older. Given how over the moon excited I was about my new running socks in my stocking, I agreed with everything about her list (and envied her new canisters a little). Our definition of “toys” definitely changes as we grow up!

image

I also have to thank Jinxy Jen for including me in her Monday favorite blogs post. Thanks for the support! Definitely check her out – she’s like so many of us, trying to figure out a healthy lifestyle and running amidst all of life’s other responsibilities. I’m definitely glad I found her!

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Loads of New Year’s Resolutions!

  1. Renee says:

    Haha, I love this! And yes, my definition of “toys” has definitely changed! My favorite Christmas gift this year was a pair of Bowflex Selecttech weights… would that be the case when I was 13? lol Definitely not! I’m sure these days I would be begging for the newest iPhone 5 or iPad Air like all the other kids lol

  2. Christine says:

    Thanks for including my post here. It was a fun way to look back at the year because yes, I do tend to undersell myself and my accomplishments. But I love this part you mentioned from Renee’s post – We can only control the inputs in our lives, not the outputs. So so true!

  3. Oh, I love the “Nailed It” list! That is a great way to look back at the year. So many times we beat ourselves up over what we didn’t accomplish (I’m looking at myself here) when we should really celebrate all that we did accomplish. I’m also going to set different goals/resolutions for this year in keeping with the idea of small, specific, and realistic because it sets me up for success. Too often, my goals are too lofty!

Leave a Reply

